safra avventura

Winners of the Ultra Men’s category, Yeo Kim Hong (extreme right) and Hairul Nazwa, receiving the award from BG (NS) Tung Yui Fai, Vice-President of SAFRA (second from left). (Photo 1 courtesy of SAFRA)

aquarius ad redsports

SAFRA Yishun, Sunday, January 12, 2014 — Yeo Kim Hong, 42 and Hairul Nazwa, 38, of team TriAdventure took home the top prize for the Men’s Ultra category with a timing of 4 hours 48 minutes.

Yeo Kim Hong commented: “There is a lot of satisfaction behind this year’s AVventura with all our training for the past few years. Winning is definitely a bonus for us. The rope climbing was the toughest especially during the last part of the race where our bodies were already running into fatigue before we scaled the 25m wall.”

SAFRA AVventura 2014 drew 130 teams of adventure racers who put their fitness and endurance to the test in the Ultra, Sprint and Youth categories.

Adventure racing seems to be gaining in popularity as an avenue for fathers to bond with their kids. For the third year in a row, SAFRA AVventura has seen more father-and-child pairs participate in its Dads for Life Challenge since the category was first introduced in 2011.

Teams in the Ultra category were tested with a longer and tougher race route of up to 50km this year which they had to navigate on foot, bike, kayak as well as swim along the coastline at Sembawang Park. They also had to clear various mystery challenges that tested their teamwork and problem-solving skills at various checkpoints along the way before they finished the race at SAFRA Yishun with a torturous 25m manila rope climb up the sport climbing wall.

Participants in the Sprint and Youth categories did not breeze through the race either. Along a 32km race route, teams biked along the trails of Bukit Timah Nature Reserve to Lower Seletar Reservoir where they were challenged to a 2.5km team kayak. Their sport climbing skills were also tested at the 18m wall at SAFRA Adventure Sports Centre (SASC).

A total of 78 father-and-child pairs participated this year – a 42 percent increase as compared to the last edition. Teams also ran and cycled along a longer race route of 10km within the Yishun estate as they participated in a series of fun-filled challenges such as abseiling, sport climbing and the Canopy Sky Walk at SAFRA Adventure Sports Centre (SASC).

BG (NS) Tung Yui Fai, Vice-President of SAFRA, graced the event as the Guest-of Honour and presented prizes to the race winners.

Men’s Ultra
1st Yeo Kim Hong/Hairul Nazwa (TriAdventure) – 4:48:51
2nd Yap Boon Keng/Hadi Masron (Adventure Madness) – 5:40:40
3rd Mark Duncan/Benn Wilson (Downing Dynamos) – 5:48:48

Women’s Ultra
1st Neo Lay Peng/Chong Yan Ping (Team Daredevil) – 6:07:30
2nd Lynda Scott/Trudy Fawcett (Hammer Chicks) – 6:44:04
3rd Tan Sok Hue Sumiko/Genevieve Lee (FWCC Ultra Ladies) – 7:31:24

Mixed Ultra
1st Tan Kee Leng/Luke Su (Hot Gooey Double Chocalate Sundae) – 5:28:40
2nd Yeo Joon Kiat/Gan Chea Hui (WanGoDo Edge) – 5:37:40
3rd Alvin Lim/Chang Ee Pin (Adventure In Motion) – 5:51:50

Men’s Sprint
1st Chew Bing Liang Alvin/Kang Eng Zheng Adrian (A-Team) – 3:13:30
2nd Mekayil Ahamed/Zulkhairil Zulhanif (MZ Racers) – 3:16:24
3rd Najimudeen S/O Anwarudeen/M B Ashik Rahman – 3:20:20

Women’s Sprint
1st Onn Yan Chang/Giam Ming Fei (Slackers) – 3:44:50
2nd Lim Ying Yan Jolene/Tang Li Yan Joey (The Peaceful Jo) – 3:51:20
3rd Chong Soon Mun Brenda/Tan Zhu Ting (Freestyle) – 4:08:40

Mixed Sprint
1st Muhd Haider Bin Tayib/Foo Yan Ci (Team Monkees) – 3:22:00
2nd Sivanesan S/O Ganabathy/Ong Hui Yi (SIM Racers) – 3:26:06
3rd Farhana Sidek/Muhammad Aniq Bin Rusli (Race Adventure) – 3:32:24

Men’s Youth
1st Tan Kien Wee/Woo Jia Xing Nigee (Adventure Fanatics) – 3:19:09
2nd Micheal Shane Loh/Sanjiv Vijayakumar (Zoom!!) – 3:21:04
3rd Low Kuan Chong/Leonard Chua (Vicious & Delicious) – 3:23:00

Women’s Youth
1st Adriana Natasha Binte Ahmad Jamal/Teo Ruiqi Hannah (SQ Potential) – 4:17:43
2nd Lee Jia Yan/Nuraisyah Binte Mohd Alias (Size Doesn’t Matter) – 4:26:01
3rd Leung Millicent/Nur Sabrina Binte Razak (Streamline) – 4:29:01

Mixed Youth
1st Lim Sin Hao Gavin/Tan Wei Ling Sharon Anne (Heart Breakers) – 3:40:29
2nd Wong Zhao Rong Linus/Low Shu Wen (Team Crayon) – 3:42:29
3rd Jens Wira/Kiona Chong (EVVenturally) – 4:22:14