Contributed by Chris Rogers

The Padang, Sunday, August 22, 2009 – Sinhalese Sports Club beat the Royal Selangor Club by 20 runs to win the SCC Twenty20 Cricket Carnival.

Put into bat, Sinhalese Sports Club got off to a fast start reaching 56 off 30 balls. The crowd witnessed some aggressive hitting, blending with the glorious surroundings, which even the rain could not dampen. But the rain did mean that the original 20 overs was reduced to 14.

For Sinhalese Sports Club, man of the tournament Dimuth Karunaratne starred with 62 not out as they bludgeoned their way to a competitive total of 126 from 14 overs.

In reply Royal Selangor Club put an early marker down with some big hits from captain Rohan Selvaratnam who scored a quick fire 28 and put Royal Selangor Club ahead of the run rate after 4 overs. But a superb catch from Ryan Kern saw him depart and from there despite some good hitting from Hamadullah Khan (28) and Mohammad Shahzad (29), tight bowling from Sachithra Senanayake (2 for 16) turned the screw and left Royal Selangor Club 20 runs short of victory.

Earlier the bowl final was won by Penang Sports Club, beating Kowloon Cricket Club and the Plate final was won by hosts Singapore Cricket Club, who outplayed Melbourne Cricket Club.

In the Shield final, a strong batting performance from Chetan Suryawanshi (70 not out) helped Singapore Cricket Association, President's XI post a score of 148 which proved too much for Madras Cricket Club.

Mike Grice, Tournament Director was delighted with the action and recognized the deserved winners. “Sinhalese Sports came here and played some exhilarating cricket, which was a credit to the Twenty20 format. Despite a couple of rain interruptions, we've had three days of superb cricket, which has been well supported by the public.”

Results - Day 3: Padang

Bowl Final: Penang Sports Club vs Kowloon Cricket Club
Kowloon Cricket Club 108 off 14.2 overs (R Lamsay 31)
Penang Sports Club 109 for 1 (Darvin 52)

Result Penang Sports Club won by 9 wickets

Plate Final: Singapore Cricket Club vs Melbourne Cricket Club
Melbourne Cricket Club 114 for 9 in 20 overs (A. Middlin 61, R. Hands 3 for 10)
Singapore Cricket Club 115 for 2 (R. Hussein 55)

Result: Singapore Cricket Club won by 8 wickets

Shield Final: Singapore Cricket Association President's XI vs Madras Cricket Club
Singapore Cricket Association President's XI 148 for 7 off 15 overs (C. Suryawanshi 70 not out)
Madras Cricket Club 116 for 6

Result: Singapore Cricket Association President's XI won by 32 runs

Cup Final: Sinhalese Sports Club vs Royal Selangor Club (Rain reduced)
Sinhalese Sports Club 126 for 3 off 14 (D. Karunaratne 62 not out, N. Perera 28)
Royal Selangor Club 107 for 6 (R. Selvaratnam (28), Hamadullah Khan (28) and Mohammad Shahzad (29))

Result: Sinhalese Sports Club won by 19 runs