a div boys triple jump

Baladashyalan Rajandran of ACS(I) jumped 13.66m to win the A Division title. (Photo 1 © Les Tan/Red Sports)


vision 2030 live better through sports

Choa Chu Kang Stadium, Friday, April 5, 2013 — Baladashyalan Rajandran of Anglo-Chinese School (Independent) won the A Division triple jump with a leap of 13.66m at the 54th National Schools Track and Field Championships.

Bala’s personal best is 13.70m which he set when he also won the A Division triple jump in 2012.

His schoolmate, Lim Tse Yang, was second with 13.45m while Darren Koh of Raffles Institution was third with 13.42m.

“I wasn’t exactly expecting to win, because I’d strained my hamstring practically a week before my jump so the plan was to just go and try my best. So it was quite a pleasant surprise to get the gold once again,” said Bala, who also won a triple jump bronze when he was in Secondary Four while competing for ACS(I).

The A Division triple jump record is 14.55m and was set by Lee Chen Yong, then of Raffles Junior College, in 2002.

A Div Triple Jump Results
1st Baladashyalan Rajandran (#54, ACS(I)) – 13.66m
2nd Lim Tse Yang (#66, ACS(I)) – 13.45
3rd Darren Koh Chee Yung (#126, RI) — 13.42
4th Yusuff Abdul Rahman Mohd Y F (#260, ACJC) — 13.31
5th Lemuel Low Kai Jie (#279, HCI) — 13.07
6th Lee Xin De (#278, HCI) — 12.87
7th Choo Zheng Jie Marcus (#124, RI) — 12.64
8th Chan Zhe Ying (#84, CJC) — 12.55
9th Ow Kok Kin (#252, ACJC) — 12.48
10th Daryl Ng Zhe Sze (#58, ACS(I)) — 12.45
11th Nur Zuhair B Zaharudin (#93, CJC) — 12.38
12th Ananth Suresh (#80, CJC) — 12.09
13th Lau De Hao, Marcus (#276, HCI) — 12.06
14th Chan Sze Yuen (#208, VJC) — 12.02
15th Tan Kui Jin Ralph (#227, VJC) — 11.79
16th Tan You Hong (#256, ACJC) — 11.05
Low Bi Cheng Gerald (RI) — Did Not Qualify
Ang Kang Jie (VJC) — Did Not Qualify

More photos next page