53rd national schools track and field championship

Gary Wee (#61) makes his move to overtake Ryan Koh (right) but it was Paul Simmy (centre) who eventually overtakes both of them to win the C Division 800m final. (Photo 1 © Les Tan/Red Sports)

Choa Chu Kang Stadium, Wednesday, April 4, 2012 — Paul Simmy of Anglo-Chinese School (Independent) came from third in the final stretch to win the C Division 800m final in a time of 2 minutes 12.41 seconds.

The electronically-timed Championship record of 2:03.76 was set by Kannan Poobalan, then of Victoria School, in 1997.

Gary Wee of Singapore Sports School, last year’s runner-up, finished second again in 2:13.22, while Ryan Koh of Hwa Chong Institution was third in 2:15.27.

Ryan had set the early pace but Gary overtook him at the 200m mark. Gary would hold on to the lead until the 500m mark when Ryan overtook him to take the lead again. By then, the lead pack consisted of just four — Ryan, Gary, Paul and Lim Chang Yu of Victoria School.

The four become three as Ryan, Gary and Paul, in that order, pulled away with about 150m to go. Gary caught Ryan just after the bend but that was when Paul also made his move. Gary accelerated past Ryan, but little did he realise Paul was pulling up close beside him. Paul overtook Gary with about 40m to go to cap a remarkable victory.

Paul, who ran a 2:18.17 in his 800m heat, will run again in the C Division 1500m final where he will come up against Ryan again in that race. Gary did not compete in the 1500m. He finished second in the 400m final less than a day earlier.

1st Paul Simmy (Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)) — 2:12.41
2nd Gary Wee Wei Zong (Singapore Sports School) — 2:13.22
3rd Ryan Koh Zhong Qi (Hwa Chong Institution) — 2:15.27
4th Isaac Ming U Yang (Catholic High School) — 2:17.00
5th Lim Chang Yu (Victoria School) — 2:18.37
6th Chee Rui Qin, Colin (Catholic High School) — 2:18.62
7th Sapan Sunwar (Guangyang Sec School) — 2:19.51
8th Harichandran S/O Arivalagan (Commonwealth Sec School) — 2:19.95
9th Isaac Tan Wei Long (Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)) — 2:20.10
10th Cavin Christopher Peter (Deyi Sec School) — 2:21.11
11th Joel Yuen Wei En (Hwa Chong Institution) — 2:23.19
12th Owe Yong Hong Zheng (Nan Hua High School) — 2:24.95
13th Aaron Chan Siang Joo (Raffles Institution) — 2:25.08
14th Nigel Chua (St. Andrew’s Sec School) — 2:25.34
15th Keane Yap My Shen (Commonwealth Sec School) — 2:25.88
16th Louis Shia Wei Jie (North Vista Sec School) — 2:26.03

Video © SAA. Used with permission.

More photos next page