Story by REDintern Emer Hoong. Photos by Chua Kai Yun/Red Sports.

Claudia Yip (GA) of CHIJ (Toa Payoh) catches the ball. (Photo © Chua Kai Yun/Red Sports)

Claudia Yip (GA) of CHIJ (Toa Payoh) catches the ball. (Photo 1 © Chua Kai Yun/Red Sports)

OCBC Arena, Thursday, April 21, 2016 – CHIJ Secondary (Toa Payoh) emerged as double champions for the second year running after defeating Dunman Secondary 36-23 in the final of the National B Division Netball Championship.

After a close first two quarters where they led by only five points, CHIJ(TP) outscored Dunman 23-8 in the remaining two to seal the championship title.

In the C Division final played earlier, CHIJ(TP) had beaten Singapore Sports School 39-19.

This is the third double championship win in the last four years for CHIJ(TP). Apart from 2015, they also won the double in 2013.

Dunman started off by scoring three consecutive points within the first two minutes of the game with no reply from CHIJ.

CHIJ warmed up and made a comeback, tying it at 4-4 by the six-minute mark. CHIJ used strong, short passes to bring the ball up, scoring five unanswered points to lead 9-4 at the end of the first quarter.

CHIJ increased their lead further to 12-5, five minutes into the second quarter. Dunman fought back but CHIJ stayed in front to lead 17-9 at the end of the second quarter.

CHIJ dominated the court at the start of the third quarter, holding Dunman to just one point as they scored five to lead 22-10 with three minutes played. The Dunman managed to then match CHIJ in points scored for the rest of the quarter but CHIJ still held a 28-16 lead heading into the final quarter.

Dunman did not back down, starting the fourth quarter strongly and managed to reduce the 12-point deficit to nine (21-30) four minutes in. CHIJ outscored Dunman 6-2 for the rest of the quarter to wrap up the 36-23 title win.

Score by Quarter
Dunman vs CHIJ(TP)
1st Q: 5-8
2nd Q: 6-8 (11-16)
3rd Q: 4-10 (15-26)
4th Q: 4-13 (19-39)

Dunman Roster
Matilda Chin, Goh Weiping, Venus Lim, Ivanka, Insyirah Johan, Maimi Sulaiman, Arina Tan, Cynthia Ang, Nur Insyirah, Xu Ying, Odelia Hiew, Safuwan

CHIJ(TP) Roster
Priscilla Wong, Shann Tay, Claudia Yip, Lai Wan Qing, Felicitas Ang, Alëna Rae Ong, Tina Leong, Daphne Lim, Tan Wen Xi, Leung Jia Wen, Isabelle Lim, Gladys Koh

More photos next page