by REDintern Tessa Cho

c boys 4x100m relay final

Muhammad Haris Haziq (orange) of Temasek Pri on his way with the baton to his third runner. The Temasek C boys’ 4x100m relay team won the gold in 54.67s, just 0.01s outside the record. (Photo © Les Tan/Red Sports)


vision 2030 live better through sports

Bishan Stadium, Tuesday, April 30, 2013 — The Temasek Primary C boys’ 4x100m relay team missed the record by 0.01 seconds when they won the relay gold in a time of 54.67 seconds at the 54th National Primary Track and Field Championships.

The team comprising Reuben Lee, Joshua Sim, Muhammad Haris, Kyes Gaffoor and reserve, Abu Bakar, were first in the heats as well and were aiming to set a new record. The C boys 4x100m relay record of 54.66s was set by Fuhua Primary in 2009. While the boys fell short of their aim, they performed better than their heats result of 56.00s.

Temasek Primary also won gold in the D boys’ 4x100m relay final. Team members, Malik Rohan, Sean Michael Andriesz, Irfan Zamir and Jeft Tay came in first with a timing of 59.61s.

The 10-year-olds were pleased with the results as they expected to win whilst acknowledging the tough competition arising from Greenwood Primary.

The current record for the D boys’ 4x100m relay is 58.01s set by Gongshang Primary in 1996.

In the A boys’ 4x100m relay, Stamford Primary swept home gold with a timing of 53.44s. The team of 13 year olds – Mohamed Naeem Hifsur Rahman, Mohammad Khairil B Abdul Aziz, Paworaprat Phinyo and Quiambao Vincent Christian – have less than a year of experience in the sport. Stamford Primary also topped the 4x100m relay heats with a timing of 53.66s.

Griffiths Primary came in second, clocking a timing of 54.08s while MacPherson Primary were third in 58.09s.

Princess Elizabeth Primary School currently holds the A boys’ 4x100m relay record of 51.10s which was set in 1992.

In the B boys’ 4x100m relay finals, the Nanyang Primary team of James Lum, Bryan Yong, Jorden Chong and Tan Yi An emerged victorious with a timing of 52.10s.

The four 12-year-olds, who had come in first in the heats with a timing of 52.33s, were aiming for a 52.22s and less.

Gongshang Primary finished second behind them in 53.09s while Temasek Primary were third in 53.28s.

Nanyang Primary had set the B boys’ 4x100m record of 50.70s in 2009.

A Division Boys 4x100m Relay
1st Stamford Primary — 00:53.44
2nd Griffiths Primary — 00:54.08
3rd MacPherson Primary — 00:58.09
4th Lianhua Primary — 00:58.81
5th Teck Whye Primary — 00:59.25
Yuhua Primary — Disqualified
Greenwood Primary — Withdrawal

B Division Boys 4x100m Relay
1st Nanyang Primary — 00:52.10
2nd Gongshang Primary — 00:53.09
3rd Temasek Primary — 00:53.28
4th Fuhua Primary — 00:53.64
5th Ai Tong School — 00:54,28
6th Seng Kang Primary — 00:54.41
7th Greenwood Primary — 00:54.56
Anglo-Chinese School (Junior) — Withdrawal

C Division Boys 4x100m Relay
1st Temasek Primary — 00:54.67
2nd St Stephen’s School — 00:56.47
3rd Ang Mo Kio Primary — 00:57.09
4th Northland Primary — 00:57.62
5th Nanyang Primary — 00.57.66
6th Gongshang Primary — 00.57.75
7th Canberra Primary –00:58.81
8th Anglo-Chinese School (Primary) — 00:58.94

D Division Boys 4x100m Relay
1st Temasek Primary — 00:59.61
2nd Nanyang Primary — 00:59.99
3rd Sembawang Primary — 01:00.20
4th Anglo-Chinese School (Primary) — 01:00.28
5th Ang Mo Kio Primary — 01:00.33
6th Greenwood Primary — 01:00.62
7th St Stephen’s School — 01:01.12
8th Red Swastika School — 01:02.12

For more photos, go to: Red Sports Images