By Fiona Lee/Red Sports

b girls 600m final

Ruth Kang (#245) of Nanyang Primary on her way to winning the B girls’ 600m final in a time of 1:52.70. Her teammate Claire Li (#246) was second in 1:54.42 while Chng Jia Yan (#26) of Greenwood Primary was third in 1:55.34. (Photo © Les Tan/Red Sports)


vision 2030 live better through sports

Bishan Stadium, Tuesday, April 30, 2013 — Ruth Kang of Nanyang Primary clocked in at 1 minute 52.70 seconds to win the B girls’ 600 metres gold at the 54th National Inter-Primary School Track & Field Championships.

“I feel that this year’s win was more memorable and brought a greater sense of achievement as compared to my wins in the (previous years’) 600m races in the C and D Division as the B Division is the highest level in the primary school competition,” Ruth said.

The 12-year-old continued: “Despite not doing my personal best, I still feel that I ran a good race and the other runners put up a good fight.”

The record for the event is 1:46.67 and was set by Carys Hor Kar Yin, then of Nanyang Primary, in 2009.

Joevanne Canace Poernomo of Methodist Girls’ School was leading for a good 300m before Ruth caught up with her. Joevanne eventually finished in ninth place.

Coming in second was Claire Li, 12, of Nanyang Primary with a new personal best of 1:54.42.

“I am very happy with my second position as this is my first Nationals and I have improved tremendously in less than a year. This is certainly a hard-earned achievement as there were many worthy opponents,” said Claire. She also expressed her gratitude to her supportive parents, school coaches and teachers.

Greenwood Primary’s Chng Jia Yan took home the bronze in 1:55.34.

B Division Girls 600m Results
1st Kang Yunru Ruth (Nanyang Primary, #245) — 01:52.70
2nd Li Ker Shin Claire (Nanyang Primary, #246) — 01:54.42
3rd Chng Jia Yan (Greenwood Primary, #26) — 01:55.34
4th Alexis Tang Shi Qi (CHIJ Katong Primary, #134) — 01:56.44
5th Kork Ling Hui (Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary, #255) — 01:56.51
6th Joan Wong Chak Jin (Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary, #254) — 01:57.59
7th Delf Elise Marie (Tanjong Katong Primary, #192) — 01:57.63
8th Lim Kai Xuan (Changkat Primary, #209) — 02:02.03
9th Jeovanne Canace Poernomo (Methodist Girls’ (Primary), #238) — 02:02.62
10th Emma Linnea Senarta (Tanjong Katong Primary, #193) — 14 02:02.81
11th Nur Azryna Bte Yusoff (Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary, #265) — 02:03.66
12th Nuha Faqiha Binte Imran (Greendale Primary, #24) — 02:07.41
13th Jamie Ng Shi Kai (CHIJ Katong Primary, #140) — 02:09.05
14th Emma Yi-Ting Sebastian (Fairfield Methodist Primary, #104) — 02:09.66
15th Lim Ying Yi, Phoebe (Fairfield Methodist Primary, #105) — 02:09.75
16th Nurhanis Amira Bte A R (Boon Lay Garden Primary, #206) — Withdrawal

For more photos, go to: Red Sports Images