by REDintern Tessa Cho

b boys 600m final

Chua Jia Wei (#117) of Anglo-Chinese School (Junior) leads the pack in the B boys’ 600m final. He eventually won in a time of 1:45.12. Nixon Ng (#362) of Pioneer Primary was second in 1:45.96 while Ian Matthew Ngui (#255) of St Stephen’s School was third in 1:46.92. (Photo © Les Tan/Red Sports)


vision 2030 live better through sports

Bishan Stadium, Tuesday, April 30, 2013 — Chua Jia Wei of Anglo-Chinese School (Junior) clocked a time of 1 minute 45.12 seconds to win the B boys’ 600 metres gold at the 54th National Inter-Primary Track & Field Championships.

Jia Wei led from start to finish, with Nixon Ng of Pioneer Primary finishing just 0.84s behind in 1:45.96. Nixon had managed to overtake Ian Ngui of St. Stephen’s School in the last 300m. Ian finished third in 1:46.92.

With slightly over two years of experience, Jia Wei, a Primary Six student, met his aim of running under his previous personal best timing of 1:50.

The B boys’ 600m record is 1:43.49 and was set by Gary Wee Wei Zhong, then of Greenwood Primary, in 2010.

B Division Boys 600m Results
1st Chua Jia Wei (#117, Anglo-Chinese School (Junior)) — 01:45.12
2nd Ng Chun Wai Nixon (#362, Pioneer Primary) — 01:45.96
3rd Ian Matthew Ngui Cheng En (#255, St Stephen’s School) — 01:46.92
4th Foo Ren Si (#109, Ang Mo Kio Primary) — 01:47.60
5th Kevin K Saji (#186, Casuarina Primary) — 01:48.70
6th Tung Kin Pang Dave (#357, Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary) — 01:51.97
7th Low Ming Herng Joel (#171, St Joseph’s (Junior)) — 01:51.99
8th Joshua Koh Zhi Yuan (#61, Rosyth) — 01:52.94
9th Ethan Ho Cheng Yew (#347, Nanyang Primary) — 01:53.78
10th Alastair Leighton Clark (#247, St Stephen’s) — 01:54.12
11th Joshua Yong Zhi Hao (#128, Anglo-Chinese School (Primary)) — 01:54.60
12th Tang Shi Wei Suntisuk (#164, Kuo Chuan Presbyterian Primary) — 01:54.66
13th Lim Yi Ren Brennan (#129, Anglo-Chinese School (Primary)) — 01:54.67
14th Armand Dhilawala Mohan (#272, Temasek Primary) — 01:57.08
15th Cai Yixuan (#344, Nanyang Primary) — 01:58.16
Lim Rik (#200, East Spring Primary) — Disqualified

For more photos, go to: Red Sports Images