Pri Track & Field: Temasek win C boys’ 4x300m relay in record timing

By | 2013-06-27T12:02:42+00:00 April 24th, 2013|Front Page News, track-and-field, Youth in Motion|0 Comments
Views: 5,280

Kyes Gaffoor of Temasek Primary rounding the bend as he approaches the second runner in the C boys’ 4x300m relay. (Photo 1 © Lai Jun Wei)


vision 2030 live better through sports

Bishan Stadium, Wednesday, April 24, 2013 — Temasek Primary clinched the C boys’ 4x300m relay with a record time of 3 minutes 11:84 seconds at the 54th National Inter-Primary School Track & Field Championships. Their result was just over half a second faster than the previous record of 3:12.26 set by Kuo Chuan Presbyterian Primary in 2012.

Nanyang Primary finished in second place with a time of 3:16.28 while Northland Primary were third in 3:20.58. Ang Mo Kio Primary completed the top four with a time of 3:21.81.

In the D girls’ 60m hurdles, the record of 11.25s set by Nanyang’s Tia Louise Rozario in 2010 was broken by Elizabeth Ann Tan of CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls’ School and eventual winner Lau Jia Shuen of Nanyang Primary. Both Elizabeth and Jia Shuen had broken the record during the morning’s heats, with Elizabeth setting a new record of 10.77s. Her record lasted only until the next heat when Jia Shuen bettered her time by 0.01 seconds.

In the final, both girls lowered their timing, with Jia Shuen finishing in 10.50s and Elizabeth in 10.61s. Sembawang Primary’s Toh Li Ying finished in third place with a time of 11.90s while Gongshang Primary’s Hani Haziqah Bte Mohamed Yazli finished fourth with a time of 12s flat.

C Boys’ 4x100m Relay
1. Temasek Pri Sch – 3 minutes 11.84 seconds [N]
2. Nanyang Pri Sch – 3:16.28
3. Northland Pri Sch – 3:20.58
4. Ang Mo Kio Pri Sch – 3:21.81
5. St Stephen’s Sch – 3:22.28
6. Gongshang Pri Sch – 3:24.60
7. Anglo-Chinese Sch (Pri) – 3:25.09
8. Balestier Hill Pri Sch – 3:32.78

D Girls’ 60m hurdles
1. Lau Jia Shuen (Nanyang) – 10.50s [N]
2. Elizabeth Ann Tan Shee Ru (CHIJ St Nicholas Girls’) – 00:10.61s [N]
3. Toh Li Ying (Sembawang) – 11.90s
4. Hani Haziqah Bte Mohamed Yazli (Gongshang) – 12.00s
5. Tok Mei Hui (Sembawang) – 12.16s
6. Lim Ye Ning (Nanyang) – 12.19s
7. Andrea Lai Jia Yi (Pei Hwa Presbyterian) – 12.57s
8. Long Aijun Eugenia (Gongshang) – 12.62s

More photos next page

Leave A Comment