By Tay Jun Wen/Red Sports

c div boys 200m final

Faries Dzulmatien bin Bohari (#346, second from left) of Tanjong Katong was first in 24.24. Ryan B Jai Oliver (#127, extreme left) of Bishan Park was second in 24.55 while Edwin Tan (#69, in red) of Sports School was third in 24.56. (Photo © Les Tan/Red Sports)


vision 2030 live better through sports

Choa Chu Kang Sports Complex, Monday, April 15, 2013 — Faries Dzulmatien bin Bohari of Tanjong Katong Secondary won the C Division 200m gold with a time of 24.24 seconds at the 54th National Schools Track and Field Championships.

Ryan B Jai Oliver of Bishan Park Secondary came in second in 24.55s, just 0.01s ahead of Edwin Tan of Singapore Sports School who clocked 24.56s.

The C Division 200m record is 22.99s and was set by Yusof bin Azhari, then of St. Joseph’s Institution, in 2003.

Faries led the group after the first 100 metres. Ryan started out in fifth position but managed to move up. Edwin and Ryan were both neck and neck but Ryan edged out Edwin for the silver at the finish.

“It was an exciting race for me. I think I did well in the bend but my last 100m could be quicker. Everyone did great,” said Faries.

This was Faries first national schools medal.

Ryan’s school, Bishan Park, does not have a track and field as a co-curricular activity (CCA). He trains under a personal coach. “It was a close race and really a photo finish. I think I did well in being able to catch up from being fifth to second,” Ryan said about his first ever medal.

Ryan felt that his running along the curve could be improved upon. “It was a tough race and I did not have enough preparation,” said Ryan, who will be competing at the Western Australian Little Athletics competition.

Edwin found the race to be a tough one, though he started off well. Edwin said: “I jerked a lot during the last part.”

All three of them have the same personal goal – to go below 22 seconds.

C Division Boys 200m Results
1st Faries Dzulmatien B Bohari (Tanjong Katong Secondary, #346) — 00:24.24
2nd Ryan B Jai Oliver (Bishan Park Secondary, #127) — 00:24.55
3rd Edwin Tan (Singapore Sports School, #69) — 00:24.56
4th Joshua Yap Sae Yong (Raffles Institution, #207) — 00:24.82
5th Hong Wen-Kai (Hwa Chong Institution, #421) — 00:24.88
6th Faris (Junyuan Secondary, # 306) — 00:24.91
7th Tho Jian Xiong (National University of Singapore High School, #464) — 00:25.38
8th Tedmund Ho Tye Leng (Hwa Chong Institution, #444) — 00:25.75

Video © SAA. Used with permission.

For more photos, go to: Red Sports Images