By Tay Jun Wen/Red Sports

b div boys 200m final

Timothy Ong (#153, right) of ACS(I) won the B Div 200m final in 23.06. Ong Sin Yao (#363, centre) of Chung Cheng High (Main) was second in 23.28 while
Kennard Chin (#315) of SJI was third in 23.30. (Photo © Les Tan/Red Sports)


vision 2030 live better through sports

Choa Chu Kang Sports Complex, Monday, April 15, 2013 — In the B Division Boys’ 200m event final at the 54th National Inter-School Track and Field Championships, Timothy Ong of Anglo-Chinese School (Independent) won gold in a time of 23.06 seconds.

Right behind him was Ong Sin Yao of Chung Cheng High (Main) in 23.28s, while third-placed Kennard Chin of St. Joseph’s Institution stopped the clock just 0.02s later at 23.30s. The top three runners finished within 0.24s of each other. Even more remarkable is the fact that the top seven runners were separated by a mere 0.86s.

The B Division 200m record of 21.88s was set in 1999 by Poh Seng Song, then of ACS(I).

Timothy had a steady lead after the bend while Sin Yao, Kennard and Timothy’s teammate, Teh Yee Cher, were all vying for a podium finish. Yee Cher was just 0.16s behind Kennard in 23.46s.

After winning the race, Timothy said: “Since the three of us know each other quite well, it was still a warmer atmosphere. It was less of combat but more of camaraderie. I was quite anxious to see Kennard taking the lead when we just started but it really pushed me to chase him down.”

“I agree with Timothy on that it was a warmer atmosphere. Since young, we were teammates when we represented Singapore in overseas competitions. Timothy and I were even roommates,” said Sin Yao.

“My hamstring hurt and coming out last from the first 100 metres made me a little anxious,” added Sin Yao.

Kennard found his race to be a nerve-wracking one. “I was tense at the end but I managed to hold out,” he said.

B Division Boys 200m Results
1st Timothy Ong Kah Yong (Anglo-Chinese School (Independent), #153) — 00:23.06
2nd Ong Sin Yao (Chung Cheng High (Main), #363) — 00:23.28
3rd Chin Yew Chung Kennard (St. Joseph’s Institution, #315) — 00:23.30
4th Teh Yee Cher (Anglo-Chinese School (Independent), #151) — 00:23.46
5th Hong Jin Xiang (Hwa Chong Institution, #522) — 00:23.53
6th Muhammad Nur Syahirran Bin Sadeli (Singapore Sports School, #103) — 00:23.55
7th Daryl Shane Lee Rui Guan (Temasek Secondary, #443) — 00:23.92
8th Muhammad Shahrieza Bin Norzaha (Singapore Sports School, #104) — 00:24.18

Video © SAA. Used with permission.

For more photos, go to: Red Sports Images