hua yi vs commonwealth west zone b division basketball

Battle of the number 7s. See Yun Jie (#7) of Hua Yi gets tangled up with Joseph Lee (#7) of Commonwealth. Tristan had a game-high 24 points, including six 3-pointers, while Yun Jie had 22, including four from 3-point range. (Photo © Les Tan/Red Sports)


Clementi Sports Hall, Tuesday, February 19, 2013 — With a place in Round 2 at stake, it was Hua Yi Secondary that grabbed it when they beat Commonwealth Secondary 59-43 in the West Zone B Division Basketball Championship.

Tristan Tan (#7) of Commonwealth had a game-high 24 points, including six 3-pointers. In the third quarter, he accounted for the first nine points of the quarter for his team when he sank three 3-pointers in a row.

See Yun Jie (#7) of Hua Yi almost matched that performance, scoring a team-high 22 points, including four 3-pointers.

Coming into this game, Hua Yi had a 3-1 win-loss record while Commonwealth were 2-2 while New Town Secondary had already won the group with a perfect 5-0 record.

Little separated both teams for the first two quarters with Hua Yi leading by three (12-9) and five points (26-21) after the first and second quarters respectively.

However, Hua Yi outlasted Commonwealth to win with a squad that had better scoring depth. Darren Chee (#5) hit double digits with 11 points as four Commonwealth players contributed 49 of their 59-point total.

Commonwealth were heavily reliant on Tristan, with his 24 points accounting for more than half of his team’s 43-point total.

Hua Yi will face Hwa Chong Institution (3-1), Jurongville Secondary (4-0), Zhenghua Secondary (4-1), Jurong Secondary (5-0) and Dunearn Secondary (5-0) in their Round 2 group.

Score by Quarter
Hua Yi vs Commonwealth
1st Q: 12-9
2nd Q: 14-12 (26-21)
3rd Q: 15-11 (41-32)
4th Q: 18-11 (59-43)

Hua Yi
See Yun Jie (#7) — 22 points (4 x 3-pointers)
Darren Chee (#5) — 11 points
Chua Xi Meng (#11) — 8 points
Malcolm Lim (#14) — 8 points

Joseph Lee (#7) — 24 points (6 x 3-pointers)
Myint Khaing Oo (#10) — 8 points

Hua Yi Roster
Lee Wei Hao, Keith (#4), Darren Chee Jian Hui (#5), CHong Ching Kang (#6), See Yun Jie (#7), Chong Zhou Jack (#8), Saw Wee Kiat (#9), Bon Hong Jun Clarence (#10), Chua Xi Meng (#11), Loke Jian Hao (#12), Ng Hong Wei (#13), Lim Jin Ren Malcolm (#14), Irwin Tay Khai Cheng (#15)

Commonwealth Roster
Lim Tian Bao (#4), Ngoh Wei Yue (#5), Tan Hu Soon (#6), Tan Jiong Tristan (#7), Myint Khaing Oo (#8), Sia Pei Xiang (#9), Chiam Jia Cheng (#10), Ernest Chng Yong Cheng (#11), Lee Ke Xian (#12), Lee Jia Jun Joseph (#13), Tan Yi Xi (#14), Li Weiwei (#15)

2013 West Zone B Division Boys’ Basketball Championship — fixtures and results

Go to next page for more photos