Koh Jian Ying (SIN #12) scored four goals in the 10-9 win. (Photo 1 © Clara Yuan/Red Sports)

OCBC Aquatic Centre, Tuesday, July 19, 2016 — Singapore edged out Indonesia 10-9 to win the water polo gold at the ASEAN University Games.

Thailand beat Philippines to finish third.

Singapore made it to the final of the four-team tournament with wins over Philippines (25-4), Thailand (10-6), and Indonesia (8-6).

After their opening loss to Singapore, Indonesia beat Philippines (26-5) and Thailand (13-7) to qualify for the final.

The opening quarter of the final saw a flurry of seven goals. Indonesia led 1-0 before Chiam Kun Yang (#7) tied it up with 4:45 left on the clock.

Ang An Jun (#2) gave Singapore their first lead of the game at 2-1 but Delvin Felliciano (IND #4) tied it up.

Ooi Yee Jia (#5) again took back the lead for the hosts but Delvin (IND #4) stepped up again to tie it up at 3-3 with 2:51 left.

Koh Jian Ying (#12) had the final say in the first quarter with a goal for Singapore with 42 seconds left to give his team a slim 4-3 lead heading into the first quarter break.

Indonesia had a vigorous response in the second quarter, scoring two unanswered goals through Mavlana Bayo Herfianto (#5) and Brandley Igantius Legawa (#9) with 5:51 left on the clock to lead 5-4.

Singapore struggled to score, with their shots saved, hitting the bar, or just missing. In fact, Singapore did not score until there was 1:59 left on the clock through Jian Ying (#12) to make it 5-5.

Singapore then had a one-man advantage when Zaeral Arifin (#12) was penalised but they could not take make use of it.

Indonesia then grabbed the momentum, sneaking in a goal with 36 seconds left through Ridjkie Muua (#10) to give his team a one-goal, 6-5 lead.

There was however still time for a bit of drama. A goalmouth scramble saw the referee penalise Novian Dwi Putra (#13) and hand Singapore a penalty. Toh Zhi Hong (#9) scored the penalty with 15 seconds left to ensure both teams were tied up at 6-6 heading into half time.

Koh Jian Ying (#12) completed his hat-trick when his shot was deflected into goal at 7:31 on the clock. Jian Ying then scored his fourth at 5:33 to give Singapore their largest lead so far of two goals at 8-6.

Jian Ying (#12) then gave a penalty away, and Ridjkie Muua (#10) stepped up to score to reduce the deficit to one again with 4:36 left.

Then came a series of missed Singapore chances. Isaac Chan (#6) had the goal at his mercy but missed, then Chow Jing Lun (#8) hit the post, followed by a Yip Yang (#11) shot that Novian Dwi Putra (IND #13) saved. With less than 30 seconds to go in the third quarter, Isaac missed another chance.

It seemed Singapore would take a one-goal lead into the fourth quarter but Rezza Auditya Putra (IND #8) stunned the home crowd when he squeezed in a shot between the keeper and the post with just five seconds to go to make it 8-8 heading into the final quarter.

With the gold at stake, the fourth turned out to be the lowest-scoring quarter with just three goals.

Yip Yang (#11) missed a shot before Isaac Chan (#6) gave Singapore the lead again with 3:36 left. It was a lead they would not relinquish, as Chiam Kun Yang (#7) restored a two-goal cushion with 2:57 to go.

A late Zaeral Arifin (#12) goal with 15 seconds left could not prevent the Singapore win.

Koh Jian Ying said, “The whole team played very well compared to the first day. The last few days, we haven’t been playing very cohesively as a team. Today, we played a lot better, especially in defence, compared to the first few days, even though the score is very close.”

Scoring by Quarter
1Q: 4-3
2Q: 2-3 (6-6)
3Q: 2-2 (8-8)
4Q: 2-1 (10-9)

SG team 4 from national team 5-6 knocking on the door

IND full national team

Thai beat Philippines to win bronze
4-team tournament

Good experience for them come here to improve
Almost everyone played

Singapore Roster
Jeremy Bin (#1), Ang An Jun (#2), Adriel Ng (#3), Rishi S Pandey (#4), Ooi Yee Jia (#5), Isaac Chan (#6), Chiam Kun Yang (#7), Chow Jing Lun (#8), Toh Zhi Hong (#9), Gilbert Beh (#10), Yip Yang (#11), Koh Jian Ying (#12), Lee Kai Yang (#13)

Indonesia Roster
Doliansyah (#1), Delvin Felliciano (#4), Mavlana Bayo Herfianto (#5), Andi Muhd Vwayzulqam (#6), Guntar Anugrah Samudera (#7), Rezza Auditya Putra (#8), Brandley Igantius Legawa (#9), Ridjkie Muua (#10), Muhd Hadyan Utoro (#11), Zaeral Arifin (#12), Novian Dwi Putra (#13)

More photos next page