Story by REDintern Carissa Tan. Photos by Lim Yong Teck, Jerald Ang and Clara Yuan/Red Sports

56th National Inter-School Cross Country Championships 2015

Ierhan Raushan (#3310) of Singapore Sports School in action. He clocked 16:08.2 to top the boys’ B Division field. (Photo 1 © Lim Yong Teck/Red Sports)

Bedok Reservoir Park, Wednesday, March 25, 2015 — Ierhan Raushan of Singapore Sports School clocked a timing of 16 minutes 8.2 seconds to claim the B Division individual title at the 56th National Inter-School Cross Country Championships.

Isaac Tan from Anglo-Chinese School (Independent) followed behind with a timing of 16 minutes and 14 seconds, while Mohammad Shafiq Anshad from St Joseph’s Institution clocked 16 minutes and 32.8 seconds to finish third.

Ierhan started the 4.6km race behind Isaac and was initially also overtaken by Shafiq and third runner-up, Brandon Quek. He maintained his pace and overtook Isaac only at the last kilometer.

Ierhan said, “Isaac tried to overtake me a few times but I managed to overtake him and win the race.”

He added, “It was a close race (between him and Isaac). I felt the start of the race today was a lot slower than last year’s race and that’s why I only felt tired after the uphill run. I feel very happy now because it is my first win in cross country.” Ierhan finished in second place last year.

The Singapore Sports School student will be competing in the 800m and 1500m events in the upcoming National Inter-School Track and Field Championships.

“The start of the race was a kind of slow, and after the turn, the pace got much faster, so I tried to follow. At the last part of the race, I was probably not as mentally prepared and hence I couldn’t keep up,” said ACS(I)’s Isaac Tan. “I thought I could do much better, but I’m still quite satisfied.”

In the team category, ACS(I) dethroned defending champions Raffles Institution to emerge first.

B Division Boys – 4.6km (Top 20)
1st Ierhan B Muhammad Raushan (#3310, Singapore Sports School) — 16:08.2
2nd Tan Wei Long Isaac (#3025, Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)) — 16:14.0
3rd Mohammad Shafiq Anshad (#3328, St Joseph’s Institution) — 16:32.8
4th Brandon Quek (#3108, Commonwealth Secondary School) — 16:43.7
5th Chirag Gupta (#3290, Raffles Institution) — 16:47.9
6th Thiruben S/O Thana Rajan (#3229, National Junior College) — 16:51.9
7th Azure Dhilawala Mohan (#3361, Victoria School) — 16:56.7
8th Gideon Phong Wei Sheng (#3021, Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)) — 17:03.2
9th Fang Yiyang (#3110, Commonwealth Secondary School) — 17:04.0
10th Kwong Wei Tat, Charles (#3022, Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)) — 17:05.1
11th Wee Ze Hong, Benjamin (#3222, Nan Hua High School) — 17:05.6
12th Wong Meng Ern, Philip (#3026, Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)) — 17:13.4
13th Yap Sae-Hwa Daniel (#3027, Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)) — 17:15.2
14th Song Ivan (#3330, St Joseph’s Institution) — 17:17.3
15th Pua Jun How Austin (#3329, St Joseph’s Institution) — 17:17.8
16th Selvanther Sivarajan S/O S (#3272, Punggol Secondary School) — 17:20.2
17th Jethro Sim Sheng Yang (#3292, Raffles Institution) — 17:20.6
18th Lim Jie Han, August (#3358, Unity Secondary School) — 17:22.6
19th Gabriel James Neo Jia Wei (#3364, Victoria School) — 17:23.8
20th Joseph Hee Jia Liang (#3217, Nan Hua Secondary School) — 17:26.1

More photos next page