By Lim Yong Teck and Clara Yuan/Red Sports


Ryan Ong (New Town #4) secures the rebound. (Photo 1 © Clara Yuan/Red Sports)

Jurong West Sports Hall, Friday, January 23, 2015 — 10 of New Town Secondary’s players got on the scoreboard, as a balanced effort earned them an easy 75–39 victory over Jurongville Secondary in the first round of the West Zone B Division Basketball Championship.

New Town forward Marzuqi (#12) contributed a team-high 13 points, while Jurongville’s Liew Yue Jun (#11) led all scorers with 16 points.

New Town have won their third straight victory; they had previously defeated Yuan Ching Secondary and River Valley High 45–26 and 52–26 respectively. The loss is Jurongville’s first; they beat Westwood Secondary and Greenridge Secondary 41–25 and 34–16 respectively.

Known for their speed and stamina, New Town established their dominance on both ends, as they capitalized on a full-court defensive press to create scoring opportunities.

Jurongville, boasting a young team of mostly Secondary 3 players, were unable to keep up with New Town’s intensity as the latter’s fast break baskets defined the game.

In the final quarter, Jurongville managed to exploit New Town’s defensive loopholes and were able to find easier looks at the basket. Unfortunately, the late-game effort was too late, as eight straight points from Marzuqi (#12), including a three pointer, closed out the 75–39 victory for New Town.

New Town captain, Cleve Low (#9), said, “We have to work as a team and improve on defence. We must run and gun and play as a team. There is no one-man show in our team’s play.”

New Town will next play Greenridge Secondary at 1.45 p.m. on Thursday, January 29, while Jurongville will face Yuan Ching Secondary at 4.15 p.m. on Tuesday, February 3. Both games will be played at Jurong West Sports Hall.

Score by quarter
Jurongville vs New Town
1st quarter: 9–22
2nd quarter: 4–13 (13–35)
3rd quarter: 9–16 (22–51)
4th quarter: 17–24 (39–75)

Top scorers
Liew Yue Jun (#11) – 16 points

New Town
Marzuqi (#12) – 13 points (1 x 3-pointer)
Justin Yue (#7) – 12 points (2 x 3 pointers)
Cleve Low (#9) – 10 points
Denilson Soh (#11) – 10 points (1 x 3 pointer)

Jurongville Roster
Lim Zhen Yang Terrence (#4), Noor Muhammad Fattah B M A (#5), Collin Tan Jian You (#6), Kerk Xuan Xian (#7), Sebastian Tock Shao Xuan (#8), Chin Chang An (#9), Liew Yue Jun (#11), Lee Min Jun (#12), Hoong Yong Kang (#13), Frank Jiang Yuxuan (#14), Lin Guanyu (#15)

New Town Roster
Ryan Ong (#4), Luen Zhe Yuan (#5), Daniel Leong (#6), Justin Yue (#7), Kwan Wei Jun (#8), Cleve Low (#9), Aaron Poh (#10), Denilson Soh (#11), Marzuqi (#12), Patrick Low (#13), Teja Nagayalanka (#14), Sai Vikash (#15)

2015 West Zone B Division Basketball Championship (Boys) – Fixtures and Results

More photos next page