By Lim Yu-Han/Red Sports

Fairfield-vs-merahans-c-div- 1

Krison Sum (#12) of Fairfield makes another basket for his team. He was the game’s top scorer with 20 points. (Photo 1 © REDintern Sasha Christian)


vision 2030 live better through sports

PESEB Court 1, Friday, July 19, 2013 — Fairfield Methodist School (Secondary) beat Bukit Merah 95–12 in Round 1 of the South Zone C Division Basketball Championship.

Captain of Fairfield, Krison Sum (#12), chalked up a hefty game-high 20 points whilst teammate Gavin Tay (#11) amassed 14 points.

The win saw Fairfield top their group undefeated to qualify for the second round with a perfect record of four wins and no defeats (4–0). Bukit Merah finished third in the group with a 2–2 record and did not qualify for the second round. Fairfield outscored their four group opponents by a combined 293–48.

Bukit Merah’s score was stagnant from the end of the first quarter (4–12) till the third (4–61) as Fairfield gave them no chances with their solid defence.

Halfway through the third quarter, Clive Sng (#15) of Bukit Merah finally broke through Fairfield’s suffocating full-court press to end his team’s scoring drought. Fairfield capitalized on this defence to employ countless steals and fastbreaks against their opponents.

Jerome Tan (#14) of Fairfield made his presence felt in the paint, leaning in for consecutive baskets. Jacob (#14), point guard of Bukit Merah, saw his valiant efforts materialize as he finally penetrated the tight Fairfield defence to secure a lay-up in the last quarter. Fairfield eventually won the match 95—12.

Captain of Bukit Merah, James Lee (#13), was exhausted. “We tried very hard to play well and did our best.”

Krison Sum (#12), Fairfield’s captain, was all smiles. “I am very proud of them (the Fairfield team). We did very well and put a lot of effort into the game.”

Scoring by Quarter
Fairfield vs Bukit Merah
1st Quarter: 12–4
2nd Quarter: 24–0 (36–4)
3rd Quarter: 25–0 (61–4)
4th Quarter: 34–8 (95-12)

Top Scorers
Fairfield Roster
Krison Sum (#12) — 20 points
Gavin Tay (#11) — 14 points
Jerome Tan (#14) — 12 points
Ng Jun Xavier (#13) — 10 points

Bukit Merah Roster
Clive Sng (#15) — 4 points

Fairfield Roster
Ryan Chew (#4), Denzel Tan (#5), Jaryl Tan (#6), Ryan Lee (#7), Andre Ethan Wong (#8), John Ang Yi Heng (#9), Terry Lim (#10), Gavin Tay (#11), Krison Sum (#12), Ng Jun Xavier (#13), Jerome Tan (#14), Ihit Singh (#15)

Bukit Merah Roster
Hyeon Jun (#4), Kenny Chay (#5), Hong De (#6), Keith Lum (#7), Sherman Tan (#8), See Yu Jie (#9), Arif (#10), Navik(#11), Nicholas Soh (#12), James Lee (#13), Jacob (#14), Clive Sng (#15)

2013 South Zone C Division Boys’ Basketball Championship – fixtures and results

More photos next page