By REDintern Fiona Lee

acsi vs srjc national a div football

Klement Tam (#17) of ACS(I) rounds goalkeeper Colin Chua (#1) of SRJC to score the winning goal of the game. (Photo 1 © Les Tan/Red Sports)


vision 2030 live better through sports

Temasek Junior College, Tuesday, April 9, 2013 — Anglo-Chinese School (Independent) (ACS(I)) beat Serangoon Junior College (SRJC) 2–1 in the first round of the National A Division Football Championship. This is ACS(I)’s first win in the competition, having lost 8–0 to Meridian Junior College previously in their first match.

Nigel Lee (#22) shot SRJC into the lead from a direct free kick. His powerful shot past a wall of defenders minutes left the keeper with no chance.

An SRJC mistake allowed ACS(I) back in. An SRJC high boot gave ACS(I) a free kick and Klement Tam (#17) of ACS(I) was on the end to finish his teammate’s free kick to make it 1–1.

Both teams had their fair share of chances. Nagushan Nanthanan Manickam (#4) of ACS(I) missed from a free kick Muhammad Danish (#13) of SRJC failed to convert as his shot went wide.

15 minutes before half-time, the lightning alert sounded and the teams had to sit out for safety.

Going back into play after 45 minutes, both teams struggled to control their passes and could not switch the play effectively on the ground. SRJC played the long ball, punting it high and wide towards the ACS(I) goal but ACS(I)’s defenders dealt with them. The first half ended with both teams tied at 1–1.

The first yellow card of the match was awarded minutes into the second half when Ng Teng Boon (#9) of SRJC unintentionally knocked into an ACS(I) player. Both teams seemed less jittery after the break and made a number of shots on target but the keepers of ACS(I) and SRJC repeatedly made significant saves.

Tan Kang Ngee (#20) of SRJC had a clear opening on goal but in a bid to beat the ACS(I) keeper, the anxious player shot too early and missed. On the other hand, ACS(I) made their scoring opportunity count when Klement (#17) of ACS(I) followed up on the free kick and beat Colin Chua, the SRJC keeper, to the ball to score his second goal to make it 2–1.

In the 20th minute of the second half, SRJC had their best chance to score the equaliser. SRJC were awarded a free kick in a dangerous position when the ACS(I) keeper stepped out of the box while taking his goal kick. In a short span of two minutes, ACS(I)’s Lee Hang Wee (#6) and Adarsh Jayant Kamdar (#7) were shown yellow cards for encroaching, and the referee allowed SRJC to retake the free kick two times.

Aqil Nasrulhaq Shah B Nizam S (#7) of SRJC took the first two shots but could not convert, and at the third attempt, teammate Nigel (#22) went for the kill as he positioned his shot toward the top left corner of the goal. However, Nigel’s attempt was saved by David Lim, the ACS(I) keeper, to prevent SRJC from scoring the equaliser.

It was tough luck for SRJC as they just could not capitalise on their numerous chances as time ran out for them, leaving ACS(I) 2–1 winners at the final whistle.

Captain of ACS(I), Abdul Fattah (#8), felt that his team played a good game and had shown a lot of spirit as they fought till the end.

“We kept defending and never gave up. Serangoon played a fair game and now we are aiming to be in the top four,” said Fattah.

Meanwhile, SRJC’s captain, Aqil Nasrulhaq (#7), felt that they had a lot of chances but were unlucky in the match.

“Now, we are hoping to make it to the next round and we’ll be making use of every chance we get,” added Aqil.

Both team captains feel that Meridian are their toughest opponents in this competition.

Final Score
1st half: 1–1
2nd half: 1–0 (2–1)

Klement Tam (#17) – 2 goals

Nigel Lee (#22) – 1 goal

ACS(I) Roster
Lim Zhi Wei David (#1), Choi Kyuwan (#2), Alistair Ong Nai Hian (#3), Nagushan Nanthanan Manickam (#4), Surya Padmanabha Bhat (#5), Lee Hang Wee (#6), Adarsh Jayant Kamdar (#7), Abdul Fattah Abdulatiff (#8), Ryan Le Jin Hern (#9), Josh Han An Xin (#10), Dalvin Koh Wan Hong (#11), Mohsin Raza Syed (#12), Lee Zhicong (#13), Ya Ruiqi Daniel (#14), Li Tianxin (#15), Aaron Heng Jinheng (#16), Klement Tam Zi Ping (#17), Yusof Najim S/O Yusof Muallam (#18), Debajit Roy (#19), Sagar Nilesh Shah (#20)

SRJC Roster
Colin Chua (#1), Ibrahim B Mohamad Latiff (#2), Muhammad Syahril B Bidin (#3), Teoh Yong Jun John (#4), Muhammad Syahmi B Sahmad (#5), Aqil Nasrulhaq Shah B Nizam S (#7), Nicholas Kevin Tan Min Jen (#8), Ng Teng Boon (#9), Terry Wee Jun Kang (#10), Agustin Colombo Couste (#11), R Haresh (#12), Muhammad Danish B Adil Choo (#13), Ajay Singh Panoo (#14), Tan Jian Kai Darren (#15), Cheah Chun Kai Amos (#16), Chek Hong Liang Girvan (#17), Mah Yi Hui (#18), Tan Kang Ngee (#20), Nigel Lee Han Jie (#22), Loy Suan Sheng Elmer (#23)

2013 National A Division Football Championship – fixtures and results

More photos next page