By REDintern Fiona Lee

yishun vs punggol north zone b division basketball

Neilan Wong (#7) of Yishun finds space for himself against Punggol. The Yishun captain finished with 10 points in the game. (Photo © Les Tan/Red Sports)


Singapore Basketball Centre, Wednesday, February 20, 2013 – Yishun Secondary remained undefeated when they beat Punggol Secondary 53-40 in Round 2 of the North Zone B Division Basketball Championship.

Jerome Wong (#6) of Punggol had a game-high 13 points while Koo Zhi Xiong (#14) was the top scorer for Yishun with 12.

Lee You Yi (#6) of Yishun stood out in the first quarter with two consecutive 3-pointers as his team outscored Punggol 19-9 after the first 10 minutes.

Yishun continued to pour in 3-pointers freely, and led 33-17 and 44-22 after the second and third quarters respectively.

As pointed out by the Punggol captain, Somen Nair (#8), the fourth quarter was indeed the highlight of the match.

Punggol turned on the heat in the fourth quarter, proving themselves as worthy opponents as they fought hard to narrow the deficit to eight (48-40) in the remaining minutes of the final quarter.

However, Punggol ran out of time, leaving Yishun a 53-40 winner.

“It was a close fight and it wasn’t our standard performance. But we tried our best and made up for it in the last quarter,” said Somen.

“I am still very proud to have them (Punggol) as my teammates,” Somen added.

Score by Quarter
Yishun vs Punggol
1st Q: 19-9
2nd Q: 14-8 (33-17)
3rd Q: 11-5 (44-22)
4th Q: 9-18 (53-40)

Top scorers
Koo Zhi Xiong (#14) – 12 points
Lee You Yi (#6), Neilan Wong (#7) – 10 points

Jerome Wong Yong Heng (#6) – 13 points
Somen Nair (#8) – 9 points

Yishun Roster
Ong Zi Yuan (#4), Gan Hong Jie (#5), Lee You Yi (#6), Neilan Wong (#7), Zhou Qunshan (#8), Lee You Jie (#9), Woo Kee Joon (#10), Shawn Tay (#11), Wong Wei Heng (#12), Lin Jiahua (#13), Koo Zhi Xiong (#14), Leon Lee Yitai (#15)

Punggol Roster
Brain Calabio (#4), Darren Boey Junwei (#5), Jerome Wong Yong Heng (#6), Dexter Tan Hongming (#7), Somen Nair (#8), Kenneth Lim Yi Xuan (#9), Sukhum Sae-tieo (#10), Fabio Lim Jian Chang (#11), Aaron Swinn Yap Wei Wen (#12), Chiu Wen Chong (#13), Ezekiel Talban (#14), Tan Jun Ann (#15)

2013 North Zone B Division Boys’ Basketball Championship — Round 2 fixtures and results