Story by REDintern Darren Ho. Photos by Les Tan/Red Sports.

east zone b div football st patrick's tanjong katong

The winning strike from outside the box by Haiqal (#17) finds its way into the St Patrick’s goal despite the efforts of Lionel Tiong (SPS #1) in goal. (Photo 1 © Les Tan/Red Sports)

Temasek Polytechnic, Monday, March 28, 2016 – A goal each from Muhammad Haikel (#11) and Muhammad Haiqal (#17) gave Tanjong Katong Secondary (TK) a come-from-behind 2-1 victory over St. Patrick’s School (SPS). The win gave Tanjong Katong third place in the East Zone B Division Football Championship.

Tanjong Katong struck the woodwork twice within 7 minutes of the start when two venomous shots from Muhammad Haiqal (#17) and Sean Gerard (#16) hit the posts.

St. Patrick’s took the lead at the half-hour mark when a free-kick delivered from left-back Curtis Tan (#7) found an unmarked Keshav Kumar (#3) in the penalty box, and he angled a glancing header into the bottom corner of the net.

St. Patrick’s kept their 1-0 lead at half time but Tanjong Katong soon tied it up 7 minutes after the break.

Lucas Ng (TK #21) jinked past the St. Patrick’s defence on the left wing and delivered a fizzing cross across the goalmouth before right-winger Muhammad Haikel (#11) ghosted into the box, unmarked, and stabbed the ball into the net.

Tanjong Katong added a second when a stunning strike from Muhammad Haiqal (#17) outside the penalty box found the back of the net, beating both the defenders and goalkeeper Lionel Tiong (#1).

Tanjong Katong have now won seven of their last nine games in the zone and will be looking forward to extend their run of form in the National Championship.

Despite the loss, St. Patrick’s will also qualify for the National Championship along with Tanjong Katong, Siglap Secondary and Coral Secondary as part of the top four.

Score by Half
TK vs SP

1st-Half: 0-1
2nd-Half: 2-0
Full-time: 2-1

Tanjong Katong

Muhammad Haikel (#11) – 1 goal (47th min)
Muhammad Haiqal (#17) – 1 goal (65th min)

St. Patrick
Keshav Kumar (#3) – 1 goal (30th min)

Tanjong Katong Roster
Pho Jia Yuan (#1), Chiam Li Wei, Ricky (#3), Yapp Nicanor (#4), Li Jia Wei (#5), Abdul Rasyid Zaki B Abdul K (#6), Muhammad Syafiq B Asaraf Ali (#7), Bradley James Wilson (#8), Shaked Shalev (#10), Muhammad Haikel B Zaini (#11), Banbury Lee (#12), Neo Wei Yang (#14), Hamzah B Omar Alkhatib (#15), Sean Gerard Calimag Caranguian (#16), Muhammad Haiqal Assyiddiq Bin Rashid (#17), Tang Wei Tuang, Marcus (#18), Julio Agustin Punsalan Tan (#20), Ng Lucas (#21), Yubin Gurung (#22), Muhammad Aqil B Saiful Bahri (#23), Muhammad Afiq B Muhammad F (#25)

St. Patrick’s Roster
Tiong Jun Mian Lionel (#1), Aloysius Tung Jun Keat (#2), Keshav Kumar S/O Kishore Kumar (#3), Ng Winchell (#4), Wong Koi Kiat, Marc (#5), Ahmad B Feisal Marican (#6), Curtis Tan Zhenliang (#7), Naviinjaay S/O Nathan (#8), Philip Koshy (#9), Shervin Poh Yee Xiang (#10), Lum Jun Yong, Gabriel (#11), Koh Hao Wei (#12), Richian Joshua O Sapitan (#13), Micole John Evangelio Dela C (#14), Amir Hafiz B Rohaimi (#15), Muhammad Nabil Farish A M (#17), Jordan Efa Okwundili Emaviwe (#18), Park Joo Hyuk (#19), Mohammad Syuaib B Mohammad F (#20), Mohammad Shahin Lubis B M S (#21)

More photos next page