SEA Games 100m (Men): Calvin Kang sets new personal best but misses medal by 0.02s

By |2015-06-10T18:03:12+08:00June 9th, 2015|Nation in Motion, track-and-field|0 Comments
Views: 3,814

Story by Jiexin Neo/Red Sports. Photos by Lim Yong Teck and Lee Jian Wei/Red Sports

SEA Games athletics 100m

Muhammad Amirudin Jamal (left) and Calvin Kang of Singapore share a moment after the men’s 100m race. The pair finished sixth and fourth with timings of 10.55s and 10.47s. (Photo 1 © Lim Yong Teck/Red Sports)

Singapore National Stadium, Tuesday, June 9, 2015 — Singapore’s Calvin Kang and Muhammad Amirudin both missed out on a podium finish in the men’s 100m final at the 28th Southeast Asian (SEA) Games.

Earlier in the heats, Amirudin clocked his season best of 10.49s, while Calvin came in with a timing of 10.50s.

Calvin said, “I was a bit tense but this time round I just tried to enjoy the run because it’s in our country, our National Stadium, I just told myself to enjoy the run, be relaxed so I can run fast.”

“Based on the technical run I felt very happy, everything went well,” Calvin added.

Calvin rewrote his personal best of 10.48s registered earlier this year with his final timing of 10.47s. He came in fourth, missing the podium finish by 0.02s behind Indonesia’s duo of Yaspi Boby and Iswandi Iswandi.

“It was a very good race, because everyone was just neck-and-neck. But I guess this year everyone is just really really strong,” added Calvin.

Singapore’s Amirudin came in sixth with 10.55s.

Philippines’ Eric Shauwn Cray bettered his personal best of 10.28s attained in the heats to win gold with 10.25s.

On Eric’s performance, Calvin said, “I think in the heats he has already showed that he has the calibre, so we knew he was a really really fast guy. I saw him race in the past two, three years. He really improved a lot.”

The SEA Games 100m record is 10.17s and was clocked by Suryo Agung Wibowo of Indonesia in 2009.

SEA Games Men’s 100m Results
1st Eric Shauwn Cray (Philippines) — 10.25s
2nd Yaspi Boby (Indonesia) — 10.45s
3rd Iswandi Iswandi (Indonesia) – 10.45s
4th Calvin Kang (Singapore) — 10.47s
5th Jirapong Meenapra (Thailand) — 10.48s
6th Muhammad Amirudin (Singapore) — 10.55s
7th Trong Hinh Le (Vietnam) — 10.55s
8th Md Fakhri Ismail (Brunei) — 10.67s

More photos next page

Leave A Comment