Story by Matthew Lau/Red Sports. Photos by Matthew Lau/Red Sports and Soh Jun Wei/Red Sports

Tan Yi Rui (SIN #1) bats against Muhammed Farhan (#13). (Photo 1 © Soh Jun Wei/Red Sports)

Tan Yi Rui (SIN #1) bats against Muhammed Farhan (#13). (Photo 1 © Soh Jun Wei/Red Sports)

Kallang Softball Field, Saturday, June 6, 2015 — Strong defence and offence helped Singapore beat Malaysia 10–0 by mercy rule in the fourth inning to pick up their first win of the Southeast Asian (SEA) Games softball tournament.

Minister of Culture, Community and Youth, Mr Lawrence Wong, was present to throw out the first pitch to mark the start of the games.

A double by Kenny Goh (#12) and triples by Chew Jee Boon (#19) and Benjamin Oh (#8) were the highlights of Singapore’s offence as they picked up six runs in the bottom of the first inning.

A walk-off, two-run single by Jerel Tan in the bottom of the fourth saw Singapore score the runs needed for Singapore to win the game on the mercy rule. The mercy rule comes into play when one team leads the other by 10 runs at the end of the fourth inning.

Team Singapore captain, Ivan Ng (#11) said, “I think we performed well for the first game, we started really well. Not only did we score 10 runs, we didn’t let in any runs too. I think that shows that we are well prepared in both offence and defence. Despite the heat, I think we did well in not letting it affect us. We would also like to thank the supporters as some of them have been here since 7am in order to get good seats. I hope we’ve put up a good show for them.”

Ng added, “Playing at home, firstly I hope we can reach the final. Anything can happen there, our mission is to get gold and we plan to do that one step at a time.”

Score By Inning
Singapore vs Malaysia
1st Inning: 6–0 (6–0)
2nd Inning: 0–0 (6–0)
3rd Inning: 1–0 (7–0)
4th Inning: 3–0 (10–0)
Final Score: 10–0

Singapore Roster
Niels Aplin (#27), Chew Jee Boon (#19), Chua Hui Fu (#2), Kenny Goh (#12), Dominic Han (#22), Lau Kuan Hup (#30), Samuel Lee (#6), Lew Cheng Chye (#13), Ivan Ng (#11), Ngiam Jun Jie (#18), Benjamin Oh (#8), Joshua Tam (#4), Jerel Tan (#17), Watson Tan (#20), Jeron Tan (#21), Tan Yi Rui (#1), Bayden Wang (#14)

Malaysia Roster
Abdul Azizi (#2), Aman Shah (#55), Asrulsani Muhammed Syahmi (#23), Baharuddin Fathul Haqim (#24), Kee Chun Siang (#16), Lee Alvin Chong Yi (#88), Lee Man Hinn (#1), Mohd Zaid (#21), Mohd Zaki (#9), Mohammed Moklis (#10), Muhammed Nasmin (#13), Puah Zhen Xian (#3), Shah Rooni (#7), Stephen Watson (#12), Teh Zi Rong (#26), Wan Mohd Shymin Amirul (#33), Mohd Zahrul Shafiq (#8)

2015 SEA Games Softball – fixtures and results

More photos on the next page