By Lim Yong Teck/Red Sports

C Division Boys' 3000m

Armand Dhilawala Mohan (#189) of Raffles Institution in action. He clocked a timing of 10:20.09 to clinch his first C Division boys’ 3000m title. (Photo 1 © Lim Yong Teck/Red Sports)

Bukit Gombak Stadium, Thursday, April 16, 2015 — Armand Mohan (#189) of Raffles Institution clinched his first C Division boys’ 3000m title when he clocked a timing of 10 minutes and 20.09 seconds to top the field at the 56th National Inter-School Track and Field Championships.

The RI student’s finish is an improvement from last year’s final, where he ran 10:50.55 to finish in fifth place.

The 14-year-old credited his competitors for the race. “It was a tough race. We all ran well. I think we tried our best and the result was just based on how hard we trained,” said Mohan.

400 metres into the race, Catholic High’s Chai Wen Bin (#37) took the lead and held it until the final kilometre, where Mohan, Jerrell Lim (#225) of St. Andrew’s Secondary and Nixon Ng (#111) of Singapore Sports School took over.

The three were neck-and-neck until the final 400 metres. Mohan picked up his pace and eventually pulled away to a first-placed finish. Ng followed suit, finishing 6.57 seconds behind in 10:26.66. Lim, who ran out of steam in the last 100 metre, settled for third place with a timing of 10:32.60.

“I didn’t expect to come in second and I’m very happy with the finish,” said Singapore Sports School’s Ng, who had expected to finish in third place in his debut at the National Inter-School Championships.

“The plan was to follow the pack all the way and kick-off at the last few laps,” added the 14-year-old.

The meet record of 9:41.35 was set in 1999, and it is held by St. Patrick’s School alumnus, Muthukumar.

C Division Boys’ 3000m Results
1st: Armand Dhilawala Mohan (#189, Raffles Institution) – 10:20.09
2nd: Ng Chun Wai Nixon (#111, Singapore Sports School) – 10:26.66
3rd: Jerrell Lim Dao Rong (#223, St. Andrew’s Secondary) – 10:32.60
4th: Ethan Yan Yikai (#399, Hwa Chong Institution) – 10:35.95
5th: Chai Wen Bin (#31, Catholic High) – 10:39.13
6th: Lai Ziqing George (#407, Hwa Chong Institution) – 10:39.27
7th: Tan Gene, Travis (#215, Raffles Institution) – 10:40.31
8th: Ruben S/O Loganathan (#163, Guangyang Secondary) – 10:41.35
9th: Aldrich Goh (#76, Maris Stella High) – 10:48.26
10th: Gabriel Ng Yu Jie [#130, Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)] – 10:48.85

More photos next page