Story by Jiexin Neo/Red Sports. Photos by Clara Yuan/Red Sports


Boo Han Wei (Damai #8) gets tackled by Muhammad Dinie (EVG #14). (Photo 1 © Clara Yuan/Red Sports)

Physical Education and Sports Education Branch, Thursday, February 12, 2015 — Evergreen Secondary (EVG) beat Damai Secondary (DMS) 16–10 in the National B Division Rugby Championship.

Evergreen had previously defeated Bukit Batok Secondary (BBSS) 42–7 in their first game in the group stage. For Damai, this was their first group game in the tournament.

Evergreen constantly threatened Damai’s line of defence early into the game, and kept the ball mostly in their offensive half. Evergreen’s offensive efforts were rewarded when a penalty was given, and Riduan (EVG #10) converted from the halfway line to put the team 3–0 up.

Towards the end of the first half, Evergreen converted another penalty through Riduan (#10) to push their lead to 6–0.

Evergreen started their second half even stronger and scored a try (11–0). Riduan (EVG #10) made his third conversion of the game to make it 13–0.

Damai were 13 points down midway through the second half but they refused to give up. They continued running their offensive plays and their efforts were rewarded when Boo Han Wei (DMS #8) broke through for their first try (5–13).

Han Wei (DMS #8) and Mohamad Irfan (DMS #2) combined well on offense to create scoring opportunities for the team. Han Wei was enjoying a good game in the second half and was strong on his runs, posing a threat to Evergreen’s defenders.

Despite that, Evergreen held on and earned another penalty, which Riduan (EVG #10) converted (16–5).

Damai scored their second try of the game through Muhammad Qamarul (#10) but eventually went down 10–16 to Evergreen in their first game of the season.

Evergreen captain, Faheem (#8), said, “I felt that it was a very tough game as we came in as underdogs. As such I’m really proud of the team for this win. We still have two more games in the group stage so we got to work harder. I think we just need to keep our focus towards the end of the second half.”

Damai captain, Qamarul (#10), said, “It was a great game, as Evergreen is quite a tough team. In Damai’s last two years in the tournament, we didn’t even score a try, so I think we have improved because we didn’t let Evergreen score any tries today, and we scored two ourselves. I think we conceded too many penalties today.”

Scoring by half
Evergreen vs Damai
1st half: 6–0
2nd half: 10–10 (16–10)

Evergreen Roster
Muhammad Hazim B Subari (#1), Muhammad Shahir B Mazlinan (#2), Shafuliqbal B Shamsudin El-Yum (#3), Tan Cheng How Lloyd (#4), Heilman Rusydi B Suhaidi (#5), Muhammad Danial B Jamaludin (#6), Seah Qi Hua Matthew (#7), Mohamed Faheem B Md Faud (#8), Danial Hadi B Affendy (#9), Riduan B Sulaiman (#10), Lional Tan Yi Hong (#11), Aslamshah B Budinshah (#12), Khairiz Haikel B Khairul A (#13), Muhammad Dinie Matin B Yusham (#14), Ian Andre Fonseca (#16), Muhammad Zhulfadhli B Hanapiah (#17), Is’han Syaqir Bharoocha B I B (#19), Muhammad Laili Muharam B A (#20), Ong Qi Bin (#21), Hadyff Irawan B Kamsari (#22), Ng Cheun Han Kyles (#23), Priyadarshan S/O Kanniapalan (#24), Muhammad Azrul B Ali (#24), Ahmad Ilyas B Azhari (#25), Danny Lim Leong Boon (#26), Abdullah Bin Abdul Rahman (#27), Muhammad Amir B Mohamad Ali (#30), Quek Chui Hong (#31)

Damai Roster
Muhammad Aiman B Zainal (#1), Mohamad Irfan B Mohamad Shukor (#2), Oh Geng Cheng (#3), Lim Jingheng Darius (#4), Sufian Hariri B Roslan (#6), Napatsakon Chawala (#7), Boo Han Wei (#8), Muhammad Haikel B Selamat (#9), Muhammad Qamarul Zafran B M A (#10), Muhammad Zhafir B Mazlan (#11), Muhammad Hafiz B Saini (#14), Koh Kok Leng (#15), Muhammad Zikry B Mohamad Rizal (#18), Shaik Nabil Basharahil B F (#19), Rifqi Fathan B Rahim (#20), Nur Muhammad Azizi B Zainal (#21), Ahmad Rifaii B Zulkifli (#22), Muhammad Syahid B Ishak (#23), Ahmad Danial Idham B Danish (#24), Talib Hazlan Plaquia (#28), Gerwyn Choong Rong Sheng, Muhammad Hadji B Bahtiar, Jalkern Tan Hong Wei, Muhammad Edzuannazli B Mohd, Kuek Hong Swee, Abdullah Shafiq B Mohd M, Afiq Danish B Haslan, Bryan Goh

National B Division Boys Rugby Championship — Fixtures and Results

More photos next page