Story by REDintern Lim Ying Xian. Photos by REDintern Louisa Goh


Ericia Chan (YJC #10) handles the ball against TJC. Ericia scored three out of five goals for her team. (Photo 1 © REDintern Louisa Goh)

Republic Polytechnic Sports Complex, Friday, May 9, 2014 — Yishun Junior College (YJC) beat Temasek Junior College (TJC) 5—0 for their second group win in the National A Division Girls Floorball Championship.

YJC had beaten River Valley High 3–0 in their opening game. For TJC, this was their first loss after a 2–1 win over Tampines Junior College in their opener.

The first 10 minutes of the match did not see any goals with both teams going close. It was Ericia Chan (YJC #10) who finally opened the scoring for YJC goal near the end of the first period, although she picked up a 2-minute penalty due to aggressive play and sat out the rest of the period.

Ericia’s penalty was brought forward to the second period for the first 34 seconds, giving TJC a womman-advantage. However, they could not capitalize. Daphne Ong (YJC #21) and Ericia (YJC #10) went on to score another two goals for YJC in this period to make it 3–0.

TJC managed to bank on their defence in the third period to prevent YJC from scoring but finally yielded in the last three minutes as Ericia (YJC #10) and Chloe Then (YJC #19) scored the last two goals for YJC.

Siti Muliyanti (YJC #26), captain of YJC said, “I think the play was good, like the movements were there as compared to the previous game when we played against CJC. The defenders did a pretty good job in switching the places at the back, so we can attack from both sides.”

Scores by period
Period 1: 1–0
Period 2: 2–0 (3–0)
Period 3: 2–0
Final Score: 5–0

YJC roster
M Vaishavi (#2), Ong Swee Ling (#3), Lu Yew Hui (#4), Liu Shao Lun (#7), Sabriana Boon Shi Si (#8), Cheng Xin Yi (#9), Chan Rui Jia Ericia (#10), Pang Hui Ping (#12), Tang Si Ni Amanda (#13), Koh Qi Rui Glenda (#14), Matsuo Yu (#16), Moo Hui Ming (#17), Gabrielle Goh Kai Ling (#18), Chloe Then Jiaqi (#19), Daphne Ong Jia Lin (#21), Nur Harita Bte Mohd Tahir (#24), Siti Muliyanti Bte Ab Rahman (#26), Elisabeth Lim Wen Hui (#27), Sar Jing Ying Candia (#28), Alisha Tara Krishnan (#96)

TJC roster
Lim Qian Wei (#3), Tan Jia Xin (#4), Gladys Yeo Hao Jing (#5), Soh Xin Jie Melissa (#6), Kum Yan Pui (#7), Oh Hui Ting (#8), Lu Yun Ru (#16), Charlene Oh Jia Yun (#18), Lim Li Fern (#19), Ong Wen Hui (#20), Aurelia Lim Ying Yi (#22), Ng Jing Ting (#24), Ng Xinyi Alicia (#26), Chua Pei Yi Amanda (#28), Lee Hong Hui (#29), Zenly Ching Wen Zhen (#31), Er jia Yun (#81), Chin Hui En Julia (#82), Gurpreet Kaur Xena (#99)

National A Division Girls Floorball Championship – fixtures and results

More photos next page