Story by REDintern Lim Ying Xian. Photos by REDintern Louisa Goh


Vanessa Chin (TPJC #8) and Ummi Syafiqah Bte Amran (NYJC #39) tussle for the ball. (Photo 1 © REDintern Louisa Goh)

Republic Polytechnic Sports Complex, Friday, May 9, 2014 — Nanyang Junior College (NYJC) beat Tampines Junior College (TPJC) 4—1 for their first win of the National A Division Girls Floorball Championship.

For first-time participants TPJC, this was their second loss in a row since the season began while NYJC overcame the setback of an opening day 3–4 loss to River Valley High.

NYJC led 1—0 all the way before closing out the 4–1 win with three goals in the last period.

Both teams did not let their guards down from the beginning of the match. It wasn’t until the last two minutes of the first period when Abigail Ng (NYJC #29) scored the first goal for NYJC.

NYJC had three unsuccessful goal attempts while IJC made one in the scoreless second period. Vianna Peng (NYJC #7) was given a 2-minute penalty nearing the end of the period for aggressive play.

IJC won a penalty shot at the beginning of the third period but could not convert and they were made to pay for it when Sarah Koh (NYJC #13) scored shortly after to make it 2–0. Chong Jia Yin (NYJC #10) followed up with another goal within the next two minutes before Koh Yuan Zhen (NYJC #17) scored the fourth and final goal for a 4—0 lead.

Song Yan Ping (IJC #17) scored the only goal for IJC in the closing moments of the game.

Captain Sheryl Kwa (NYJC #15) said, “I felt that it was a really good game, because we also like started from nothing, like we have never been to top 4 before. TP was participating for the first time in A Division and we were all really nervous because we have no idea how good they are, so I felt that it was a really good game because we were quite fearful of the unexpected and I felt that the team really put in their best and really played their hardest today.”

Scores by period
Period 1: 1–0
Period 2: 0–0 (1–0)
Period 3: 3–1
Final Score: 4–1

NYJC roster
Tan Qiu Han (#2), Fatin Nadzirah Bte Zahari (#4), Vianna Peng Hanwei (#7), Yan Hui Yu (#9), Chong Jia Yin (#10), Chia Wanyi (#11), Lim Xin Yi Amanda (#12), Koh Shin-in Sarah (#13), Angela Law Jia En (#14), Kua Ting Wei Sheryl (#15), Koh Yuan Zhen (#17), Maisarah Bte Zulkifli (#18), Emma Seek Chu Ying (#21), Jenna Gan Ting Ann (#22), Tricia Whang Chen Hui (#23), Teo Rui Yun (#25), Ng Rui Wen Abigail (#29), Ummi Syafiqah Bte Amran (#39)

TPJC roster
Tan Hsien Teng (#2), Lye Hui Ying Melissa (#3), Yap Jing Yi Vivian (#4), Sarah Lin Bte Raimi (#6), Ng Shi Yan Verona (#7), Vanessa Chin E-lyn (#8), Ho Shi Yun Alvina (#9), Lim Jia Ying Rachel (#12), Terri Ann Lee Wai Lin (#13), Yeo Ka Sin Faith (#14), Song Yan Ping (#17), Samantha Chong Xin Yi (#18), Soong Pei Fang Sabrina (#20), Khairunnisa Bte Zulkifli (#21), Ng Wei Li (#22), Sarah Bte Mohd Hasri (#23), Vanessa Heng Huizi (#26), Poh Keng Ling (#28), Tham Yong Qi (#33), Stefanie Tan Suk Yuen (#58)

National A Division Girls Floorball Championship – fixtures and results