Story by REDintern Lim Ying Xian. Photos by REDintern Louisa Goh


Koh Heng Hwee (RI #2) attempts to pass the ball away from (IJC #24). (Photo 1 © REDintern Louisa Goh)

Republic Polytechnic Sports Complex, Wednesday, May 7, 2014 — Raffles Institution (RI) beat Innova Junior College (IJC) 8—1 in the preliminary round of the National A Division Floorball Championship.

It was RI’s first win after going down 1–2 to Victoria Junior College in their opening game, and a 2–2 draw with Hwa Chong Institution in their second. For IJC, this was their first game of the season.

RI scored eight straight goals before IJC replied with their only goal in the final minute.

There was no scoring for the first seven minutes before Tan Jia Hui (RI #12) scored the first goal. Within minutes, Sim Hong (RI #7) added a second goal before Charis Anne Lim (RI #16) scored the third goal in the last 30 seconds before the end of the first period.

IJC managed to hold off RI for the first 12 minutes of the second period before Edith Loo (RI #10) finally added a fourth for a 4–0 lead heading into the third period.

The floodgates opened up in the final period as Seah Ying Lin (RI #14), Rachel Sim (RI #13), Ang Shi Hui (RI #17), Priscilla Ting (RI #11) scored four goals in the first 12 minutes. In the last minute of the match, IJC #15 scored a consolation goal for her team.

Ang Shi Hui (RI #17), captain of RI said, “I think for this game, we actually played relatively well as compared to before. But I think we were a bit nervous and panicking, so our coach was asking us to calm down. Overall, I think everyone did our best and we really did improve from the past two games.”

Scores by period
Period 1: RI 3 IJC 0
Period 2: RI 1 IJC 0
Period 3: RI 4 IJC 1

Final score
RI 8 IJC 1

RI roster
Ang Yu Xin (#1), Koh Heng Hwee (#2), Chua Yi Ling Ilene (#3), Elizabeth Khong (#4), Tan Yiling (#6), Sim Hong (#7), Amelia Azeni (#8), Foo Hui Shi (#9), Loo Xiang Ling Edith (#10), Priscilla Ting Zi Yin (#11), Tan Jia Hui (#12), Rachel Sim Miao Chen (#13), Seah Ying Lin (#14), Siti Humaira Bte Mohd Kamil (#15), Charis Anne Lim (#16), Ang Shi Hui (#17), Lea Tan (#19), Pua Kai Qian Nicole (#23), Chan Mae Yee (#24), Tamara Lie Pin (#26), Lee Hui Shan Samantha (#28), Ruth Lee (#45), Ong Xian Hui Joanne (#99)

IJC roster
We asked for but did not manage to get the name list. If you have the names of the players, please let us know, and we’ll update the post.

National A Division Girls Floorball Championship – fixtures and results