Singapore Handball League: Opening day wins for SMU and NUS

By | 2013-11-26T17:52:15+00:00 November 13th, 2013|Nation in Motion, Youth in Motion|0 Comments
Views: 1,075

Opening day of the Singapore Handball League saw SMU (white) beat SIM 30–14. (Photo courtesy of Jude Tan/Handball Federation of Singapore)

vision 2030 live better through sports

Jurong West Sports Hall, Saturday, November 2, 2013 – There were opening day wins for Singapore Management University (SMU), HANTU and A Team for the men’s in the 2013 Singapore Handball League organized by the Handball Federation of Singapore.

In the women’s league, Blitzschnell and the National University of Singapore (NUS) scored opening wins.

The teams will be battling it out over four weekends from November 2 to 23. The league runs on a round-robin system in each group. The top two teams from each group proceeds on to the semi-finals.

The first match of the women’s category saw Blitzschnell overwhelming SMU with a 47–14 win. Andrea Ng (Blitz #1) was the leading scorer with an outstanding 23 goals.

Later on in the day, NUS defeated Nanyang Technological University (NTU) 28–4. Both teams had previously met in the final of the Singapore University Games (SUniG) earlier this year. Lydia Soo (NUS #16) was the leading scorer with seven goals.

Over at the men’s category, SMU defeated Singapore Institute of Management (SIM) 30–14. During their previous encounter with each other in SUniG, both teams played out a 31–31 draw. Edmund Goh (SMU #10) was the leading scorer with nine goals.

In a topsy-turvy battle, HANTU emerged with a 21–19 win over Chevron. It was a see-saw battle all the way, with HANTU holding the fort late in the second half to seal the victory. Ronald Wee (Chevron #24) was the leading scorer with nine goals.

The final match of the day saw A-team defeat KR Handball 36–13. The top scorer of the match was Christophe Taoubi (A-team #17) with seven goals.

Top Scorers
Blitzschnell 47 SMU 14

Andrea Ng (#1) – 23 points

Jane Ong (#2) – 3 points
Grace Gan (#11) – 3 points
Lim Jia Hui (#13) – 3 points

NUS 28 NTU 4
Lydia Soo (#16) – 7 points

Karina Chan (#12) – 2 points

SMU 30 SIM 14

Edmund Goh (#10) – 9 points


Zhang Jiawei (#13) – 4 points

HANTU 21 Chevron 19
Desmond Chua (#32) – 7 points

Ronald Wee (#24) – 9 points

A-team 36 KR Handball Club 13

Christophe Taoubi (#17) – 7 points

KR Handball
Adrian Koh (#20) – 6 points

Leave A Comment