asian youth water polo championship

Singapore captain Thamilarasan (#11) threatens to shoot from the 5m mark in the game against Indonesia. In the eventual penalty shootout, his shot hit the post, sinking the hearts of the local supporters. Singapore eventually went down 16–17 and had to settle for the playoff match for seventh place. (Photo 1 © Low Sze Sen/Red Sports)

vision 2030 live better through sports

Toa Payoh Swimming Complex, Monday, September 30, 2013 – Singapore beat Sri Lanka 17–8 to finish seventh in the 3rd Asian Youth Water Polo Championship. The team finished with a record of three wins and four losses.

Indonesia finished as the best South-east Asian country in sixth, while Japan beat Iran 12–3 in the final to win the championship.
The top three teams qualified for the 2014 FINA World Youth Water Polo Championship in Istanbul, Turkey.

Singapore started the championship in Group A with Philippines, Iran, Kazakhstan and Sri Lanka. In their opening game, our boys went down 6–13 to Kazakhstan, who eventually finished third.

The next game saw Singapore beat Sri Lanka 20–4, then go down 6–16 to Iran in the evening of the same day. The team followed that up with a 33–0 thrashing of the Philippines in their final group game.

In the quarter-finals, Singapore went down 7–14 to China, and were relegated to the playoffs for fifth to eight place. Against Indonesia, Singapore lost a close, extra-time game 16–17 to dash their hopes of finishing fifth or sixth. The loss meant a final game against Sri Lanka which they won to finish seventh.

“It has been a great learning experience throughout the game. The team has bonded well and we have improved much in these few months. We are looking forward to more international exposure and can’t wait to play together again,” said Valampurithavan Thamilarasan, 17, the captain of the Singapore boys’ team.

Singapore Squad
Darren Lee Jit-an (#1), Evan Tjong Jia Rong (#2), Sean Toh Wei Yee (#3), Jared Lim Qi Yong (#4), Justin Chia (#5), Marcus Ong Kee Hui (#6), Efren Tan Jian Yue (#7), Dexter Kuah Le Zhi (#8), Lim Wen Bin (#9), Lee Cheng Kang (#10), Thamilarasan Valampurithavan (#11), Sean Ang Wei Ming (#12), Samuel Moses Yu Nan Feng (#13)

Boys’ Final Standings
1st Japan
2nd Iran
3rd Kazakhstan
4th China
5th Kuwait
6th Indonesia
7th Singapore
8th Sri Lanka
9th India
10th Philippines

Full results

More photos next page