fairfield vs peicai

Gavin Tay (#14) of Fairfield gets past Bryann Ong (#9) of Peicai. Gavin had a team-high 14 points for Fairfield while Bryann had three points in the game. (Photo 1 © Les Tan/Red Sports)


vision 2030 live better through sports

Jurong East Sports Hall, Tuesday, August 6, 2013 – Fairfield Methodist School beat Peicai Secondary 65–48 to win the school’s first ever South Zone C Division Boys’ Basketball Championship.

Fairfield have finished fourth in the zone for the last three years before finally making their first-ever final with a 74–55 victory over Raffles Institution in the semi-finals.

For Peicai, this is the third time in the last four years that they have lost a zonal final. In 2012, they went down 40–64 to Catholic High and in 2010, they lost 54–70 to Raffles Institution. They did not feature in the top four in 2011.

Peicai centre Darren Ng (#11) led all scorers with a game-high 29 points. Together with his taemmate Alden Toh (#7) who contributed 12, the duo contributed 41 out of the 48 points their team scored.

Fairfield showed their squad depth with four players scoring in the double digits. Gavin Tay (#11) led Fairfield with 14 points while Krison Sum (#12) had 12, while Jerome Tan (#14) and Ryan Lee (#7) had 10 points each. Xavier Ng (#13) followed up with nine points. These five players scored 55 of the total 65 team points.

Fairfield had the better of the first quarter to lead 16–11 and at one point in the second quarter, established a nine-point, 20–11 lead. However, Peicai came back and finally took the lead when Alden Toh (#7) scored to put Peicai ahead at 30–28. However, Fairfield replied through two consecutive baskets, the second of which was a breakaway layup by Ryan Lee (#7) to ensure his team led 32–30 at half-time.

The score remained close in the third, with Darren Ng (#11) giving Peicai a 38–37 lead at 5:01 on the clock. However, that would be the end of Peicai scoring for the rest of the quarter as Fairfield responded with a 7–0 run to walk off leading 44–38 at the end of the third.

A 6–2 scoring run to start the fourth quarter saw Fairfield lead by 10 points (50–40), forcing Peicai into a timeout at 7:46 on the clock. The timeout could not stop the tide as Fairfield pulled further away after an and-1 by Ryan Lee (#7) gave them a 13-point, 53–40 lead.

Fairfield continued to shut down Peicai’s scoring, and another breakaway layup by Gavin Tay (#11) saw Fairifeld lead by 15 points (55–40) with just under five minutes left.

By the time Fairfield added another four points to lead by 19 at 59–40, Peicai had scored only two points in just over six minutes in the fourth quarter and the remaining minutes were just a formality.

Fairfield and Peicai will be joined in the national championship by Raffles Institution and defending national champions, Catholic High, who finished third in the zone.

Scoring by Quarter
Fairfield vs Peicai
1st Q: 16–11
2nd Q: 16–19 (32–30)
3rd Q: 12–8 (44–38)
4th Q: 21–10 (65–48)

Gavin Tay (#11) – 14 points
Krison Sum (#12) – 12 points
Jerome Tan (#14) – 10 points
Ryan Lee (#7) – 10 points
Xavier Ng (#13) – 9 points
John Ang (#9) – 6 points (2 x 3-pointers)

Darren Ng (#11) – 29 points
Alden Toh (#7) – 12 points
Bryann Ong (#9) – 3 points
Thanaboon Chan (#10) – 2 points

Fairfield Roster
Ryan Chew (#4), Denzel Tan (#5), Jaryl Tan (#6), Ryan Lee (#7), Andre Ethan Wong (#8), John Ang Yi Heng (#9), Terry Lim (#10), Gavin Tay (#11), Krison Sum (#12), Ng Jun Xavier (#13), Jerome Tan (#14), Ihit Singh (#15)

Peicai Roster
Tan Jing Yan Ervin (#4), Lim Gui Ann (#5), Lim Sheng Keat (#6), Alden Toh Kai Jie (#7), Porter Iglesias Lucas Jun Hao (#8), Bryann Ong Wen Jun (#9), Thanaboon Chan (#10), Darren Ng Chang Le (#11), Ling Wan Loong (#12), Tan Kang Rui (#13), Nicholas Lim Jun Yang (#14), James Yeo (#15)

2013 South Zone C Division Boys’ Basketball Championship – fixtures and results

More photos next page