By Stefanus Ian/Red sports

8th Asian BMX Championship 1

Daniel Caluag (highest in white) of the Philippines won gold in the elite category, clocking the fastest time of 29.951s. (Photo 1 courtesy of Singapore Cycling Federation)


vision 2030 live better through sports

Tampines Bike Park, Sunday, May 19, 2013 — Singapore riders put up a good show at the 8th Asian BMX Championship, reaching the semi-finals and finals of the men’s elite and women’s junior categories respectively. The competition looks set to be the final major event at the world class Tampines Bike Park, which will make way for town redevelopments.

With a total of two gold, three silver and two bronze medals, Japan was a fixture at the podiums throughout the day although China swept the top four positions in the women’s elite category. Daniel Caluag of the Philippines, who competed in the London Olympics last year, clocked the quickest time around the track with a time of 29.951 seconds. The 26-year-old enjoyed his victory and complimented the smooth organisation of the event. “The whole stay in Singapore has been great, I couldn’t be any happier,” said the veteran cyclist.

Defending Singapore BMX champion Muhammad Sallehin, 25, did well to qualify for the semi-finals before losing out while Hani Aqidah Ismail finished fifth in the junior women’s final. Represented by five riders, it was Singapore’s first-ever Asian Cycling Championship and the first major BMX event since the 2010 Youth Olympic Games.

The Singapore Cycling Federation organised the continental competition, which included eight countries from around Asia. “Having the 8th Asian BMX Championship in Singapore was a big boost for our cycling community. Our riders got to compete alongside some of the finest cyclists in Asia, which I am sure was a tremendous learning experience for them,” said Suhaimi Haji Said, president of the Singapore Cycling Foundation.

Male Elite Category
1st Daniel Patrick Caluag (PHI) – 29.951
2nd Tatsumi Matsushita (JPN) – 30.306
3rd Jukia Yoshimura (JPN) – 30.448
4th Zhao Zhiyang (CHN) – 31.129
5th Geng Zhibing (CHN) – 32.284
6th Wang Baoyu (CHN) – 32.721
7th Masahiro Sampei (JPN) – 35.634
8th Li Xiaogang (CHN) – 36.884

Women Elite Category
1st Ma Liyun (CHN) – 34.932
2nd Lu Yan (CHN) – 35.187
3rd Wang Suyangzi (CHN) – 35.674
4th Yang Yali (CHN) – 37.177
5th Miki Iibata (JPN) – 37.501
6th Rina Purnamasari (INA) – 39.435
7th Thongmee Duangkan (THA) – 40.007
8th Ayaka Miwa (JPN) – 1:05.416

Men Junior Category
1st Kohei Yoshii (JPN) – 30.724
2nd Tatsuya Saeki (JPN) – 31.063
3rd Koo Younhoi (KOR) – 40.173
4th Lee Younggeun (KOR) – 41.685
5th Choi Yangil (KOR) – 45.199
6th Arunpoonsap Kitisa (THA) – 46.702
7th Firman Chanora Alim (INA) – 54.101
8th Yuto Ikegami (JPN) – 58.102

Women Junior Category
1st – Haruka Seko (JPN)
2nd – Ayaka Asahina (JPN)
3rd – Yuri Yamanomoto (JPN)
4th – Sae-Tae Waranya (THA)
5th – Hani Aqidah Ismail (SIN)