Football: Avramovic drops non-performers and brings in youth

By |2011-07-06T11:51:19+00:00May 27th, 2011|football, Nation in Motion|1 Comment
Views: 1,432

Singapore, May 24, 2011 — Singapore National Coach Radojko Avramovic named a provisional 33-man squad that had no place for Noh Alam Shah, Muhd Ridhuan, Baihakki Khaizan, Noh Rahman, Agu Casmir, Precious Emuejeraye, Masrezwan Masturi and Rosman Sulaiman.

The surprise inclusion is young Khairul Nizam, 20, because he has not played a competitive fixture in eight months after being banned for his involvement in the Beijing Guoan-Young Lions fight in September 2010.

Evergreen Aleksandar Duric still retained a spot in the squad despite being 41 this year. Remarkably, the big man is still the leading scorer in the S.League with 12 goals so far this year for Tampines Rovers.

15 players in the 33-man squad are aged 23 and below.

There are four friendlies lined up for the team and Avramovic will trim the squad after that in time for the World Cup qualifiers in July against Malaysia and Taiwan.

Match Details

7 June 2011 – International Friendly
Singapore vs Maldives

29 June 2011 – International Friendly (A)
Indonesia vs Singapore

03 July 2011 – International Friendly
Singapore vs Indonesia

23 July 2011 – 2014 FIFA World Cup Asian Qualifier (H)
Singapore vs Malaysia/Chinese-Taipei

28 July 2011 – 2014 FIFA World Cup Asian Qualifier (A)
Malaysia/Chinese-Taipei vs Singapore

33-Man Provisional Squad
name (year of birth, club, caps, position)

Lionel Lewis (’84, Home United, 68, GK)
Hassan Sunny (’84, Tampines Rovers, 32, GK)
Izwan Mahbud (’90, Young Lions, -, GK)

Afiq Yunos (’90, Young Lions, 2, D)
Delwinder Singh (’92, Tanjong Pagar United, -, D)
Juma’at Jantan (’84, Home United, 18, D)
Shaiful Nain (’86, SAFFC, 9, D)
Ismail Yunos (’86, Gombak United, 13, D)
Safuwan Baharudin (’91, Young Lions, 4, D)
Daniel Bennett (’79, SAFFC, 96, D)
Irwan Shah Arismail (’88, Young Lions, 4, D)
Shakir Hamzah (’92, Young Lions, -, D)
Hamqaamal Shah (’86, Gombak United, 2, D)

Shi Jia Yi (’83, Home United, 48, M)
Hariss Harun (’90, Young Lions, 16, M)
Mustafic Fahrudin (’81, Persela Lamongan, 54, M)
Isa Halim (’86, Home United, 32, M)
Raihan Rahman (’91, Young Lions, 1, M)
Faris Ramli (’92, Young Lions, – , M)
Zulfahmi Arifin (’91, Young Lions, -, M)
Shukor Bin Zailan (’85, Tampines Rovers, 2, M)
Ruzaini Bin Zainal (’88, SAFFC, 2, M)
Andrew Tan Wee Tat (’87, Balestier Khalsa, -, M)
Nazrul Nazari (’91, Young Lions, -, M)
Fazly Ayob (’91, Young Lions, 1, M)
Sharil Ishak (’84, Medan Chiefs, 82, M)

Qiu Li (’81, Home United, 5, F)
Shahdan Sulaiman (’88, Tampines Rovers, 3, F)
Fazrul Nawaz (’85, SAFFC, 43, F)
Khairul Amri (’85, Persiba Balikpapan, 65, F)
Aleksandar Duric (’70, Tampines Rovers, 32, F)
Sufian Bin Anwar (’87, Home United, 1, F)
Khairul Nizam (’91, Young Lions, 2, F)

One Comment

  1. blah May 29, 2011 at 10:19 pm - Reply

    would be so much better if you could arrange them properly according to their positions

Leave A Comment