B Div Rugby: ACS(I) come from behind to beat defending champs St Andrew’s 10–8

acsi vs saints b div rugby

An ACS(I) player looks for a way through the Saints line. (Photo 1 © Adrian Tan/Red Sports)


PESEB (Formerly CCAB), Tuesday, March 5, 2013 — In a top-of-the-table clash, Anglo-Chinese School (Independent) beat defending champions St Andrew’s Secondary 10-8 in the National B Division Rugby Championship.

Both teams were previously unbeaten and wanted to maintain their clean slate leading into the business end of the B Division Rugby season. In recent encounters between these two fierce rivals, the matches had been close, with the last match in 2012, ending in a 7-7 stalemate.

This time round, it was no different, with points coming at a premium. Both teams were technically strong and physically aggressive. There was no quarter asked, and none given. Saints took an early 3-point lead when Syirazinurdinie (#10) swept in a penalty as early as the 3rd minute.

ACS(I) responded with a try in the corner when team captain, Isaiah Teh (#7), completed a sweeping move to pull his team ahead. Standoff Roy Woo (#10) made it 8-3 with a beautiful conversion.

Saints, known for their never-give-up attitude, showed it again when they scored in the last minute of the first half to take a slim 8-7 lead into half time.

The second half was touch and go for both sides. Both had chances in their opponents’ 22, but failed to capitalise on them. Arguably, the turning point of the game came four minutes from the end when referee Just Wang had no choice but to brandish the red card at the Saints captain Jeromy Chua (#8), for a spear tackle on the ACS(I) scrumhalf, Joshua Goh. Fortunately, there were no serious injuries, and replacement standoff Mike Yee, calmly put the ball between the posts to seal the victory for ACS(I).

Final Score
ACS(I) 10 St Andrew’s 8
1st Half: 7-8
2nd Half: 3-0 (10-8)

St Andrew’s roster
Justin Teo (#1), Ryan Ong (#2), Austin Ng (#3), Hidayatulhakim (#4), Haznce (#5), How Yu Sing (#6), John Chan (#7), Jeromy Chua (#8), Wong Kok Ho (#9), Syirazinurdinie (#10), Alif (#11), Zul Fadli (#12), Romille Reyes (#13), Dedrick Lim (#14), Mohamad Ruzaini (#15), Adley Goh (#16), Haziq (#17), Umar (#18), Mirza (#19), Jotham Teo (#20), Bernard Teh (#21), Ezekiel Soh (#22), Mark Anthony (#23), Akida Lim (#24), Qushyrie (#25), Ghalib Samir (#26), Sean Chuan (#28), Anand Charles (#29), Tay Hao Xia (#30)

ACS(I) Roster
Samuel Koh An Pang (#1), Zachary Chio Wei Wen (#2), Alex Chia Yao Wei (#3), Gregory Ang Zhi Wei (#4), Daniel Chris Lee Zi Ern (#5), Kyler Wong Yi Ming (#6), Isaiah Teh Jia Jing (#7), Darrell Ou Wai Yan (#8), Joshua Goh (#9), Roy Woo Ming Eh (#10), Toshikazu Inoue (#12), Joseph Yek Yuxiang (#13), Ho Chia Chun Daniel (#14), Lee Jen En (#15), Zachary Tan Jun Rong (#16), Muhammad Haziq Fitri (#17), Nathan Chong Wen Long (#18), Michael Yee Jia Hong (#21), Alexander Seow Kai Liang (#22), Ethan Ho Teng Tang (#23), Joshua Lim Jun Yi (#25), Jason Goh Jien Feung (#27), Dan Yuet Yau (#28), Tjoa Han Tang (#29), Lucas Tay Yi En (#30)

2013 National B Division Rugby Championship — fixtures and results

More photos next page

Share This


Powered by Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>