South Zone C Div Netball: Opening wins for Outram, St Theresa’s Convent, Bendemeer

Contributed by Justin Teh/

south zone c division netball

CHIJ St Theresa’s Convent (black) defend against Crescent Girls’ School. Crescent Girls’ eventually won 21-15. (Photo 1 courtesy of Justin Teh)

Kallang Netball Centre, Thursday, January 26th, 2012 — The South Zone C Division Netball Championship tipped off with a taller Outram Secondary beating Kuo Chuan Presbyterian Secondary 18-5.

CHIJ St Theresa’s Convent overcame Crescent Girls’ 21-15 in a close game on an adjacent court while St Joseph’s Institution (SJI) International made their C Division debut against Bendemeer Secondary in a heart-stopping match that saw Bendemeer win by a single goal (20-19).

The later 4pm games saw South Zone powerhouses Fairfield Methodist Secondary, St Margaret’s Secondary and Raffles Girls’ School win by a larger goal difference. The biggest scoreline of the day was by St Margaret’s Secondary, who beat their opponents, Bishan Park Secondary, 74-0, a rate of 20 goals per quarter, or two goals per minute. For a C Division team, this showed a tremendous speed and accuracy.

Raffles Girls’ beat Guanyang Secondary 44-4 and Fairfield Methodist saw off Chong Boon Secondary 36-8 in the other matches.

south zone b division netball

A Bendemeer player shoots for goal while SJI International (red) defend. Bendemeer won a close game 20-19. (Photo 2 courtesy of Justin Teh)

south zone b division netball

Outram (red) and Kuo Chuan Presbyterian players contest a ball. The taller Outram players were eventual 18-5 winners. (Photo 3 courtesy of Justin Teh)

Ed’s note: If you recognise the players, please let us know their names and we’ll update the captions. Please tell us the photo number. Thanks.

More photos at

Share This


Powered by Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>